Because He Said It

I began writing when I was a teenager and God began a work in me.  Through my writing, I was able to see God’s grace in the simple, everyday routines of life.  Certain statements made in a conversation would quicken my spirit and God would allow me the opportunity to write different things.  But, as life tends to do at times, my circumstances changed.  I didn’t make a decision to quit writing, but I did.  For years I ignored a piece of my life that God used in a such a sweet and edifying way.  Looking back, I can see that I stopped noticing God’s grace in the small areas life…and then in the bigger areas.

God has a way of getting the attention of His children though.  2010 proved to be a year of challenges in my life.  But it also proved to be a year of great restoration.  I began to hear God speaking to me again….I felt that desire to write and share what He has allowed me the privilege of writing.  A dear friend of mine brought to my attention the possibility of writing a blog as an outlet for my writings.  The more I thought and prayed, the more excited I became.  I bounced the idea of writing a blog together with my best friend and she became excited as well…. thus you are now reading the result…Devotions of Grace.

My prayer is that God will reveal His self to you through these writings.  I pray that we all become more aware of God’s presence in every area of our life.  Certainly it’s His grace that has brought His children through every trial and difficult circumstance we have faced…and certainly His grace will continue to carry His children through.  My first post, first devotion, came to me nine years after I had stopped writing.  I’m sharing it here for the first time.  (Thank you Jalyn.)

______________________________________________

I had the opportunity to spend the last couple of days with an eight year old.  She is a beautiful little girl with such a sweet spirit.  To say the least she has become a quick friend of mine.  There wasn’t anything especially engaging about our conversation to anyone who thought it might have been interesting to listen in….just the usual sharing of stories and talking about different things that we have in common.  No huge discussions regarding the spiritual aspect of the Christians life were specifically mentioned, but then again, as the lyricist wrote, “Little is much when God is in it.”

She and I were returning some of my work to its proper home when we began arguing over who loved who the most.  She had a response to everything that I tried to aggravate her with.  I was having the best time trying to make her stumble over what she was saying.  She never stumbled once…though I admit that I may have.  Finally she turned her eyes on me and said, “I just love you more.”  I laughed at her and told her that I didn’t know if I believed her or not.  She stopped and thought about her response, and said, “I believe it, because I said it.”  God took that simple, matter of fact statement, and began to speak to areas of my heart that I hadn’t paid attention to in years.  I hugged her and we continued the rest of our day together…and thankfully God continued to speak to me.

Through the last couple of months God has begun dealing with me concerning my relationship with Him.  Specifically, knowing Him.  2 Timothy 1:12 reads, “…for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.”  There is something so comforting in that statement to me.  “I know whom I have believed.”  I’ve spent my life giving myself the title of “Christian.”  If anyone would ask me who I believed I would have been very quick to give them the response of Jesus Christ.  But God was speaking to my spirit and asking, “Do you KNOW whom you believe?”  The answer was humbling.  I had an awesome idea of who Jesus is.  I’ve sang about Him and taught about Him….but the reality was that I didn’t know Jesus.  If I had truly known the Savior I serve, than I doubt that I would have spent so much time defeated.  That’s not to say I wouldn’t have struggled concerning some situations, but not defeated.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we as Christians operated in the fullness of God’s love and grace?  What works could be wrought at the hands of His children if we took time to know who Jesus is and then make Him known to others?  Wouldn’t it be amazing if we as Christians took the struggles we face and accepted them as opportunities for God to reveal His glory?

I believe that this world does want to know Jesus.  But I also believe that maybe they don’t want to know the Jesus that we present to them.  Who wants to serve a Jesus whose followers are barely making it through life?  Who wants to walk with a God whose followers testimony consist of, “I’m struggling, but I’ll struggle all the way home as long as Jesus walks with me.”  God has began to show me the realness of John 10:10.  “The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy.  I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance.” ABUNDANCE! On overflow of life! An overflow of happiness!

Satan deceives God’s children by telling them they are being humble and gracious and should be satisfied with just enough in this life to get by.  BUT GOD HAS PROMISED AN ABUNDANCE!  I spent years being satisfied but God has stirred my spirit in such a way that now I want all that God has given me.  I want an abundance of life…the life that only comes at the hand of God. I can have an abundance of peace.  I can have an abundance of happiness.  I can have an abundance of love. I believe it because God said it.  I’m going to tell someone else about it, because I know whom I believe.  Let’s begin to seek the abundance that comes from a God who gave it all that we may have an abundant life!

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 6, 2011 at 3:52 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/because-he-said-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I think that you hit the nail on the head when you said “they (the world) do not want to know the Jesus that we present to them.” Who in their right mind wants to suffer? So many times there are people who want to believe and know that they should believe but find that the company that shares their belief is miserable. How many times have you heard testimonies of people sharing what God has done for them by helping them through some obstacle or pain in their life? While that is well and good, that is not the primary reason why God is so awesome. Why can we not focus on what He has tangibly done for us, but rather what He has always been? I believe in this we can show others that we are saved by grace and that inpowers us to live extrodinary lives with Him abundantly! Being a Christian is a relationship with our Creator, God, and I would not be in a relationship that brings nothing but pain. God is real! God is awesome! He brings me happiness and peace even through what I might consider at times a hard road! Britney, I loved what you had to say, and I believe others should look at it this way. Live life with God, not for what He can get us out of or through.


Leave a Reply

