Defeating My Goliath

And the Philistine said to David, Am I a dog that you should come to me with sticks? And the Philistine cursed David by his gods. – 1 Samuel 17:43

I began battling my Goliath when I was a very little girl.  I remember that I was in children’s church one Sunday morning.  When it was over, my dad wasn’t there to meet me.  That wasn’t like him.  I went looking for him and my mom and couldn’t find them.  I can still remember that overwhelming panic in my chest.  I had never experienced anything like it before.  As a child, I had no concept of fear.  But it was so real to me.  Very real.  My aunt finally found me and explained that my mom had gotten sick and daddy had taken her home.  Just as I had been overwhelmed by fear, I remember the relief that consumed me.  It was almost as if some internal pressure had been released and I could breath again.  That’s the earliest memory I have of the fear of being alone.  My Goliath.  After that Sunday I didn’t return to children’s church.  For a long time I never spent the night with friends.  I was always terrified of being left alone…of not being able to find my family.  This fear consumed me for years.  My Goliath always seemed to keep near me….he always remained close enough that I could hear him taunting me.  Eventually, I was able to move past the fear to a degree.  But then at 18 my mom passed away, and I watched and felt as Goliath moved back into view.  I felt fear.

It was that fear that caused me to hold certain people too close and push others away.  At different times in my life I could see Goliath and that fear defined my choices and reactions to situations.  The fear spawned different insecurities.  After a while…after growing accustomed to living with Goliath, the fear became a part of what defined me as a woman.  I would try to relieve the fear and defeat Goliath through relationships with other people.  Certain friendships allowed a measure of security for me, but I quickly began to notice that Goliath would claim those relationships in my life.  I would fear losing them…fear I would somehow bother them by sharing a friendship.  Goliath stood his ground.

This past year, Goliath had the beautiful opportunity to reign as champion.  I faced challenges in 2010 that I never dreamed of encountering.  Even today, I found myself fighting the same Goliath.  I felt that same fear in my chest.  It’s sad to say but I am very familiar with the fear and I don’t know how to live without Goliath.

…but God has a way of catching the attention of His children.  My oldest daughter is a huge fan of Veggie Tales.  She watches, “God Made You Special” all the time.  Her favorite part of the whole movie is “Dave and the Big Pickle.” (David and Goliath)  I have heard Dave sing, “He’s (Goliath’s) big, but God’s bigger, probably close to a hundred times.  Today, however, God spoke to me.  I have allowed Goliath to be such a huge part of my life that this reality is freeing.  For years upon years I had tried to defeat Goliath, but in the wrong ways and with the wrong weapons.

The truth is that Goliath IS big.  Goliath himself laughed when David came against him using his slingshot.  There are very distinct lessons that can be learned from David’s defeat of Goliath.  The lessons have to be applied for them to be affective however.  And that’s the catch.  The application is a process.

We find David already knew who he served.  God wasn’t a name he picked up as needed.  David had established his relationship with God and had proven him faithful. (1 Samuel 17:37)  We also read that David didn’t seek to fight Goliath by using another’s armor.  King Saul offered his bronze helmet, a coat of mail, and his sword.  But when he attempted to move, he couldn’t.  David explained, “I cannot go with them.  I’m not used to them.  I haven’t proven them.” (1 Samuel 17:39)  David did use what gifts and abilities he did have.  He used a sling and stone.  Most importantly, David’s faith never wavered in God’s ability to overcome Goliath.  David stood on the name of God.

I don’t know what Goliath you are facing today.  Like myself, you may battle a Goliath of fear…other’s may struggle with financial problems, alcohol, anger…but this Goliath, this battle is real.  I encourage you to be like David and consistently establish your relationship with God.  Don’t wait until you need Him.  Go ahead and devote yourself to His plans.  Notice that when it came time to fight Goliath in battle David was able to call to mind all the other times that God had moved mightily for him.  With confidence, David explained to King Saul, “The Lord who delivered me out of the paw of the lion and out of the paw of the bear, He will deliver me out of the paw of this Philistine!” 1 Samuel 17:37.  So, when it does come time for you to face your giant, already have yourself established so that your able to look back on the times God displayed His provision in your life.

Facing your Goliath will be a personal battle.  I am a firm believer in seeking Godly council concerning some situations, but I also believe there are some battles we must fight ourselves.  We must use what God has equipped us with and step out in faith.  I’ve noticed that people, Christian people especially, seem to be very quick to explain how they feel we should handle situations.  Like King Saul, who had very good intentions, they offer you this advice and that advice, and place things on you that just isn’t your right fit.  (Notice that Saul clothed David, 1 Samuel 17:38)  It was well intended, but because King Saul was the man that the armor had been made for, David couldn’t move.  How many times as Christians do we allow others to direct our minds in battle and then become frustrated when we fail in that battle?  It’s because we aren’t made for another’s armor.  God has equipped us with the armor we need to overcome our Goliath.  David knew he couldn’t prevail in battle if he used King Saul’s armor.  So, he took it off and used what he had already proven.  Aren’t you certain that those who watched David step onto the battlefield to fight Goliath with a sling and stones thought he had absolutely lost all common sense?  But David knew how to work his sling.  Another probably wouldn’t have been victorious, but David was because he was comfortable with the ability that God had given him.

I can’t find where David said he felt he could defeat Goliath alone.  He stated at the beginning of his battle who would deliver him.  We don’t read of any uncertainty that David may have had.  But we do read where he spoke of the trust that he had in his God.  David didn’t boast in his own ability, but in the name of God.

I spoke to my Goliath.  I told fear that he had already been defeated.  The battle isn’t ours to fight.  It has already been fought….and won.  Tell your Goliath the same.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 18, 2011 at 11:07 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/58/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Excellent article!! And what’s even more amazing is the level of trust David had in God.
    David could literally SEE a 12-foot tall man, half fallen angel standing before him, insulting the name of Yehovah.
    I’m not condoning the lack of trust the others displayed in God, as they should have been like David (or the spies in Numbers 13), but they had great reason to be terrified. The Nephilim were monstrous beings, and what’s even scarier is that Scripture says they will return in the last days. I’ve written numerous articles, and compiled much information on them on my website.
    We don’t need to be afraid of them though, because the Lord will in the war. They may overcome us saints (Daniel 7:21; Revelation 13:7), but the Lord Yehovah, our Messiah Yeshua, will cast them all in the Lake of Fire (Revelation 19:20-21; 20:10).

    We all need the trust that David had, a trust so deep in our Lord that we will “not lean on our own understandings,” but will “acknowledge Him” in all we do (Proverbs 3:5-6).


Leave a Reply

