I Am

And Moses said unto God, Behold when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, the God of your fathers has sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name?  What shall I say unto them? And God said unto Moses, I am that I am: and he said Thus shall thou say unto the children of Israel, I am hath sent me unto you. – Exodus 3: 13-14


To say that Moses was consumed by uncertainty would probably be an understatement of the many emotions and questions that filled his mind.  Through reading the word it’s known that Moses was a man that struggled with his own insecurities.  He reminds God of his trouble with speaking and even told God that he didn’t believe the children of Israel would believe he had truly encountered God.  At the end of all of Moses questions stood the same God, and He reminded Moses, “Didn’t  I create you?  Didn’t I create all those that may come against you?  I will be with you Moses.  Go and do what I have planned for you.”  Because of the uncertainty that he had in his own abilities, he had already anticipated how the children of Israel would react to his bold statements.

Isn’t this just real?  As Christians, isn’t this what we often do when God sets a direction for us in our lives?  We remind God, as if he isn’t aware, of our short comings.  We settle in our mind and way of thinking that we will fail and not be accepted by others.  But God reminds us that I AM.  God already knew our uncertainly in our own ability and he already made a way to overcome those doubts and fears.  To every questions and every imperfection in our self that we could call to God’s attention, He answers, “I AM.”  Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know that plan I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace, and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.”

…and so for every doubt…”God,I don’t know how to do that….I don’t have the money….God, I can’t teach like others…Father, there are so many others that can do this so much better than I can…God, I don’t see how this is ever going to work out….”  He says, “But, I am that I am.”  I am the provider.  I am the way maker.  I am the solution.  I am the answer to all your questions.

In our own ability we may not be able to do like others.  We could possibly fail several times over.  But, with God, we are able to face all these insecurities straight on knowing that the great God of all has set us in the direction we are traveling.  And if God be for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8:31)

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 20, 2011 at 4:09 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/i-am/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Who can be against us? We can do all things through Him who strengtens us! Nothing is impossible with faith. I think what we forget as Christians is it is okay to have doubt and faith. Just imagine, most of us plead to God to tangibly show us a sign just so we can satisfy our need to be right in our belief. But, Moses saw the burning bush, he saw the Ten Comandments, and yet his flesh still questioned. My point is even if we get what we want from God, it is in our nature to question, so our prayers should be when we feel that we don’t want to be obedient, that He gives us strentgh and courage to have instant willingness obedience to his Word. Trust in Him who gave life, and life forever.


Leave a Reply

