A Man Who Will Take Me to Church

“I want a man who will take me to church.”  I remember telling my “mom” this at possibly one of the lowest points in my life.  I had cried in her arms countless times.  I had shared with her my secret battles and fears.  On that particular day, I had shared with her my hearts desire…”I want a man who will take me to church.”

My mom and I adopted each other a few years ago.  Honestly, I don’t feel we had much of a choice in the matter.  God seemed to had already signed the adoption papers before we knew each other.  Because of some changes in my life, I began visiting the church that she and her family attend.  I had already developed such a great respect for her, but seeing her interact with her family and seeing the respect that she displayed toward them, truly brought a much deeper respect for her as a woman, especially as a wife.

She and her husband have been married for over 20 years, but to hear her talk about him, you would think they are newly weds.  Her face still lights up when he calls to speak with her on the phone…and at the same time, you can hear the sincerity of his love for her in his voice.  She continues to be fiercely protective of him and she guards their relationship.  (In today’s society it is so refreshing to actually know a woman who genuinely respects her husband.)  After several church services with the family it became evident why she respects him though.  He deserves the respect because he is a man of God.  He’s a man who takes his family to church.

I have watched as they worshiped God side by side with their hands raised in surrender to their Savior.  Psalms 96:9 “O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness; tremble before and reverently fear Him all the earth.”  I longed for that companionship.  I felt the desire being birthed within me.  When asked, I would have always said that I wanted to share my life with a good man…one that would take care of his family and love his wife…but I wanted this.  I began to desire a man who desires God.

Not only did I have the opportunity to see them at church, but in their home.  The respect for each other continues there and it’s apparent that he truly loves her.  “Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.” – Ephesians 5:25

They have a beautiful family.  Mom often tells me that their children have said they feel they have been strict on them.  But she and her husband have raised them together in the way they feel that God would have them raise them.  “Blessed (happy, fortunate, prosperous, and enviable) is the man who walks and lives not in the counsel of the ungodly [following their advice, their plans and purposes], nor stands [submissive and inactive] in the path where sinners walk, nor sits down [to relax and rest] where the scornful [and the mockers] gather.  But his delight and desire are in the law of the Lord, and on his law (the precepts, the instructions, the teachings of God),he habitually meditates (ponders and studies) by day and by night.” – Psalms 1: 1,2

He takes care of his family.  There is such security in knowing that the head of your household is providing for your all around wellbeing.  I have sat back and observed as he has called to check on his wife when he knew she was having a bad day.  I’ve overheard him call just to say I love you.  I have listened to my mom tell stories of how she and husband have banded together in prayer concerning certain issues.  I watch as she settles against him in church and on her face is a beautiful picture of pride.  I’ve seen tears of gratefulness run down her face while spending time in the presence of God.  And then I’ve watched her husband get her a tissue….meeting even the small needs.

Their marriage…the love, respect, and sincerity that they have shown toward each other has allowed for a desire for that type of relationship in my life.  But this type of relationship can only be built by the hand of God.

So, I sat broken by circumstances that the world had given me.  I felt weathered by its storms and angry from its unfairness.  I felt forsaken and lost.  Mom held me, as she often did…and I spoke of this desire…”I want a man who will take me to church.”

Many men could offer to take me to many different places.  They could offer me security in their devotion and unfailing love.  They could buy me pricey gifts and write me beautifully letter full of emotions, rhymes, and heartfelt lyrics.  But when the hard times come and a decision has to be made…when it appears that the “worse” outweighs the “better”…I want a man who will lead his family to an altar and seek the face of the one who truly made the provision for this need many years ago.  I want a man who will stand in complete surrender to the will of God.  I want a man who will take me to church.

 

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/a-man-who-will-take-me-to-church/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you have found good role models in your friend and her husband. God holds them together by their faith, and one day, you too will have that. You are a good child and you are so easy to love!

    • I’m easy to love because you have so much love to offer! …she isn’t the only amazing example that I have in my life….she’s just the one I chose to put up with me. : )

      I love you Pam!

  2. Britney,

    Someone left a comment on my blog named Jordan, and the comment linked to here. Is that you somehow?

    Anyway, this is a very compelling post. Hang in there. He’s out there, praying for someone like you.

  3. Ha ha. Nevermind about the Jordan thing. I realized you are sisters….at least, I think you are???

    • : ) Thank you.

  4. No, not sisters, we’re just very good friends. We work on the blog together. I always link back to here so people have a chance to read Brit’s posts.

    Thanks for commenting Jeremy..

    • Thanks for clarifying!

  5. Check out the comments from FB/cfgDazzle

    http://www.facebook.com/notes/christian-fellowship-group-wwwcfgdazzlecom/a-man-who-will-take-me-to-church-by-britney-wilkes/190559174313823

    I think you will love it!
    Brian


Leave a comment