Defining Moses

The life of Moses is truly one that deserves attention.  It’s remarkable really. He was born during a time when he couldn’t be accepted.  God had blessed His people from the very beginning of their lives and God had taken notice. (Exodus 1: 19-22). So he ordered that all the male children born unto a Hebrew be cast unto the Nile River.  History marks this time as treacherous to say the least. It can’t be known as to how many babies were lost…but we do know of, not only one who survived this oppression, but overcame.

Moses was a beautiful baby. So beautiful in fact that his mother sacrificed her family’s safety for 3 months and hid him so he wouldn’t be killed. After the 3 months, however, she realized that she couldn’t continue to hide him but refused to lose him at the hand of Pharaoh.  The Bible tells of Moses being found by one of Pharaoh’s daughters and in turn his mother was allowed to raise her own son without fear of his death.  He was born a Hebrew but was raised as a Prince of Egypt.  Life soon took its course and Moses fled Egypt only to return with a message from God Himself, “Let my people go”. Certainly the hand of God was on Moses.  Some of the basic fundamental truths of who God is came to us through the circumstances of Moses life.  God revealed Himself to Moses as “I am that I am”.  He brought His people out of bondage through his leadership and literally parted a sea because of His obedience. The written law and the Ten Commandments was established and given to Moses in the very presence of God Himself.  So much can be said of the works that God wrought at the hand of a man who should have died at birth…it’s remarkable.

And then came one act of disobedience.  The children of Israel complained because they had no water.  So, Moses and Aaron prayed.  God answered them and told them to speak to the rock before the children of Israel and it would bring forth water.  Instead, Moses scolded the Israelites, calling the “rebels”, and strum the rock twice with his rod.  This act of disobedience strongly displeased God and because of this he told Moses that he wouldn’t lead the people to the Promised Land.

For forty years he led these people!  These people who constantly complained about everything.  In my way of reasoning, Moses should have been frustrated!  Even if he did disobey God, surely He would understand…the whining of the children of Israel was enough to drive anyone to strike a rock! And yet, even still, look at all that Moses had been involved with.  Certainly his past would atone for his present?…not by Gods standards.

God used this story of Moses to question my own motives concerning situations in my life.  I’ve been guilty of saying, “I did everything right!  I made the right decisions!  If I had not tried to obey God I could understand this!”. I was going through a trial and this trial was leading me to question everything.  I wanted God to look at all of my right decisions in the past and reward my present.

I woke up at 1:30am one morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. I began reading the Word. I found myself in Deuteronomy 31:1,2. “And Moses went on speaking these words to all Israel: And he said to them, I am 120 years old this day; I can no more go out and come in. And the Lord has said to me.  You shall not go over this Jordan”.  I read this and almost became mad on behalf of Moses!  There wasn’t a hint of anger or bitterness in his statement.  There wasn’t any remorse or even the sound of times lost…Moses just spoke of this as a matter of fact.  I know I would have been beside myself.  Moses had led the children of Israel out of bondage in Egypt with the sole purpose of leading them to Canaan, the land of promise.  He was faithful for forty years. He sought God’s provision for the proletariat numerous times only to listen to them complain and lurked over and over again.  One act of disobedience…he struck the rock instead of speaking to it…and God said he wouldn’t see the promise fulfilled.

And so I felt the Spirit asking, “Did you make the right decisions because you desired to serve me wholeheartedly, or because you expected a pay off? A get out of trouble free card?”

Our present…the decisions we make now…define who we are today.  This is where God has been dealing with me.  I could spend my whole life devoted to serving others and be known for my graciousness and yet lose it in a moment of anger and irrational thinking. Our present defines us. Not our past. And it’s our reaction to the present that will define our future.

As every person does, Moses had a decision to make.  He could have pitched a good fit, turned bitter, and lost his soul should he have remained there.  Or, he could have done as he did and just walk on.  Moses continued to be faithful to God…and at 120 years of age he delivered a beautiful message to the children of Israel that truly defined who he was and what he believed. “For I will proclaim the name [and presence] of the Lord. Concede and ascribe greatness to our God. He is the rock, His work is perfect, for all His ways are law and justice. A God of faithfulness without breach or duration, just and right is He”.  Deuteronomy 32:3,4.

 

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/01/29/defining-moses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Our present defines us. Not our past. I agree!!!

  2. Proletariat. You taught me a new word. And had a little eye opener yourself I see. Good job Brit!


Leave a Reply

