I Can’t Go To Church with Dirty Teeth!

“Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

My best friend loves teeth.  She and I can be watching the same television show, in conversation with someone else, or just walk by a random person and soon this question will follow, “Did you see their teeth?”  It’s sad to say, but we have spent several conversations through the years on the topic of teeth…in many different forms…how to properly brush teeth, whitening teeth, ugly teeth, beautiful teeth.  Last night was no exception.  She was running late to a sing that she was attending at one of the area churches.  She and I were on the phone and though I can’t remember the details of what we were discussing, it wasn’t teeth.  Until she told that she needed to brush her’s.  Now, knowing my best friend as I do, I’m certain that she had already brushed her teeth as well and noted by any upstanding dentists best recommendation, but the idea had already entered her mind and as things usually progress, the woman was going to brush her teeth.  I take great pride in being her best friend, so I began my role of picking on her compulsion to my fullest degree when came her reply.  With deep conviction she told me, “Britney, I just can’t go to church with dirty teeth!”  I shook my head and laughed at her.  And as it only seemed fitting, God began to quicken my spirit.

This may seem very elementary to some, but the truth still remains.  Bad breath is nasty.  I know I can speak for myself and hopefully others (definitely Trish), but I don’t feel clean if my mouth is dirty.  I may have showered head to toe, but if my teeth haven’t been brushed, I still feel dirty.  A dirty mouth is generous though, and it shares its presence with others.  Can’t we all call to mind conversations we’ve had with others that we were certain something had crawled in their mouth and died?  It’s just not pleasant to say the least.

Our mouth is such a small part of our body but our life is steered by its use.  “A man’s belly shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth; and with the increase of his lips shall he be filled.  Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.”  Proverbs 18: 20,21.  As Christians, we take such an awesome responsibility.  “Christ like”, we label ourself.  The name of Christ should be reverently feared and acknowledged.  The Spirit began asking me though, “Do your words reflect Christ?  Are they painting a picture of grace to the world or condemnation?  Are you speaking peace or confusion?”  Certainly, I began to look at my speech.  The rest of night I began to take notice of what I spoke.

The words of our mouth are not only a reflection of our mouth itself but our heart.  “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.” – Luke 6:45.  The abundance actually.  So whatever is coming out of our mouth is an overflow of what we allowed to fill our heart.  I have spoken with cold hearts and received the same words.  I’ve spoken with individuals that are filled with such anger it seems that venom pours from within them.  Thankfully, however, I’ve spoken with precious saints of God whose hearts readily stay in the presence of their Savior, and I have received warmth and love as a result from its overflow.

I’m a counselor and I’ll share with you a secret to many a counselors technique.  Let the individual talk and you listen.  Usually it wont be long and they will tell you what they are struggling with.  I’ve found Luke 6:45 to be true on many occasions and the abundance of their heart will eventually come to light through their words.  The world is listening to us too.  We aren’t fooling individuals if our heart isn’t where it needs to be with God.  Eventually, our words will reveal the truth and it will either build a struggling world up or it will tear them down.  I would imagine we can all call to mind the words that cut our very being and wounded us.  At the same time, I pray we can call to mind those words that God used as a spiritual healing balm.

So, Christians…are you going to church with a dirty mouth and nasty teeth?  Does your spiritual breath stink?  Do people avoid talking to you because they smell the rottenness of your heart?  A dirty mouth is a result of a dirty heart.  Search it out and clean it up.

 

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on February 1, 2011 at 12:54 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/i-cant-go-to-church-with-dirty-teeth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That last paragraph was awesome…just sayin’!

  2. I could not agree with that anymore. Good post. Tell Trish to brush her teeth.


Leave a Reply

