Make Me a Stumbling Block?

Ezekial 3:18 ‘When I say unto the wicked, Thou shalt surely die; and thou givest them not warnings, nor speakest to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life; the same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand.’

 

A while back I received an email from a friend where you had to answer all the questions with just one word. You know, the ones where they ask you things like “Do you miss anyone one? What are you annoyed at right now? Tell me about your mother,” etc. For someone who talks as much as I do it can sometimes be difficult to sum it all up into one word. I miss both of my babies and my mama every day because they are in daycare and revival. I am annoyed that people think things about me that aren’t true and that some of the “powers that be” for the company I work for seem to want to shut us down regardless of how many people we help. It was easy to sum my Mama up into one word however, I just replied, “AMAZING!” Anyone that knows my Mama knows that’s the perfect description, enough said!!

 

One of the questions was “What are you afraid of?” A friend had already given the answer I immediately thought of, “Hell.” I didn’t have to change that one. But there was so much more I wanted to say. I’m not so afraid of hell myself, because I have made my calling and my election sure. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am saved, sanctified and filled with the Holy Ghost and ready should Jesus call for me right this very second. But I am afraid of hell for the people around me, the ones I see in Wal-Mart, the ones I sit in church with, the ones I work with. My sister, Jenny, wrote a song for me that pretty much sums up the way that I feel. It’s called “Make Me a Ministry.” Very often when I introduce this song I share these thoughts. I want to minister in a way that helps people see Jesus, not just through my songs and my ministry with The Drummond Family, but through my life. I want to be in tune with the Spirit so that when I walk through the grocery store or the shoe store (my personal fave!) I can feel God’s heart being drawn to someone dying in sin. My worst fear is that one day I’ll be standing before the judgment throne and hear someone screaming out, “Trish, you knew. WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME???”

 

Matthew 21:44 ‘And whosoever shall fall on this stone shall be broken: but on whomsoever it shall fall, it will grind him to powder’. I saw a scene in a movie the other day where some robbers were trying to run away from the security guards in a museum. A man was sitting on a bench reading a newspaper and as one of the thieves ran past him he simply stuck his foot out and caused the would-be robber to trip and fall, thus being caught by the security guards. He was a stumbling block to that thief. That’s what I want to do. I want to be a stumbling block!

 

I said that in church one day and you should have seen the looks I got. We think of a stumbling block as a bad thing, and if it’s in the path of a Christian it is a bad thing. But that’s the chief cornerstone—Himself—Jesus is talking about in this scripture in Matthew. I’d much rather be the stone that gets right in the middle of the path of a sinner, and causes him to stumble and fall and be broken if it will stop them from going down that path. If he gets crushed to powder then what hope does he have? You can never return a powder to a solid form. I pray that prayer, “Lord, make me a stumbling block for the sinners.” If I see someone trying to run with the thief, (you know, the one that comes to steal, kill and destroy) and I can stick my foot out at just the right time and trip them up then I’ve done my job. It may be frustrating and painful to them–it may break them–but it could help them see the path of destruction they are on. However, if I just sit idly by, minding my own business, and let them go, then The Stone is going to fall on them and grind them to powder. And their blood will be required of me. All the souls I may have won, all the good I may have done, will seem so insignificant to me if there is one that I missed.

 

I know it can be so hard to share what’s in your heart and what you know is right, but we must share Jesus. Our time is short. Jesus is coming soon. I was in service the other night and the Lord said that He would protect His people from that destruction that is coming. It was so urgent, and it broke my heart because all I could think was I want to reach as many people as I can to save them from this destruction. I pray that I can be a sinner’s stumbling block today! Let’s win the lost at ANY cost. Will you work with me to trip them up and stop them from running away with the thief?

 

 

Author: Trish Brannon

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on March 24, 2011 at 9:42 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/make-me-a-stumbling-block/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. : ) …and she is MY best friend….

    Wonderful post Trish. A beautiful reminder.

  2. FATHER GOD IN THE NAME OF JESUS, FORGIVE ME FOR FAILING YOU. FORGIVE ME LORD JESUS CHRIST FOR NOT SHARING ABOUT YOU, FOR NOT TRIPPING THOSE WHO ARE RUNNING WILD TO DESTRUCTION. MANY HAVE I MISSED.

    HELP ME LORD TO BE PRODUCTIVE IN SHARING YOUR GOODNEWS TO THE WORLD,, COLLECTING MANY SOULS TO YOUR KINGDOM.

    I,M TOUCHED BY THIS POST!

  3. It is beautiful jesus is LORD

  4. Amazing post! Very inspirational and commanding too. Though I had a few doubts about it but now I am convinced after going on my knees.

    Blessings!

  5. That was a good one……I believe God will direct your steps to help others….May God Bless You….Amen

  6. Oh! My God! What have you called me for? When are you goin to show me my calling? I’m saved by the grace. You gave me power but i don’t think i’m using it in right way? My God! Show let me do it. Let me win those souls. You lifted me up from the grave. Then let me save others from dearth. Heavenly Father it is by your grace that i’m saved! Don’t let me tested, let me use the power you gave me. Thank you Jesus, thank you amen!


Leave a Reply

