Fear Not..Have Faith

Michelle Drummond is a dear friend of mine and “family” to Trish.  Her heart is burdened to reach others and tell them of Jesus’ love.  She and her husband work in ministry together with the southern gospel group, “The Drummond Family”.  The link to their website is provided here through our site.  I encourage you to visit and listen to the words of their songs.  Sure, they are talented, but it’s the anointing that makes the difference.  She has shared some devotions that God has blessed her with and I would like to share one with you now.  I pray God ministers to you as He has me.

Britney
___________________________________________________________________________

“13~And Elijah said unto her, Fear not; go and do as thou hast said: but make me thereof a little cake first, and bring it unto me, and after make for thee and for thy son. 14~For thus saith the LORD God of Israel, The barrel of meal shall not waste, neither shall the cruse of oil fail, until the day that the LORD sendeth rain upon the earth.” 1 Kings 17:13-14

In my Life Application Study Bible, the following words were comments to these verses, and they really hit home with me tonight – and I’ve read this passage and these words many times because this is a favorite passage:

“Faith is the step between promise and assurance.  Miracles seem so out of reach for our feeble faith.  But every miracle, large or small, begins with an act of obedience.  We may not see the solution until we take the first step of faith.”

How many times do we “say” we have faith, we “say” we believe, we “say” and we “say”…..but do our actions match what we’re saying???  I know personally, my actions do not always match what I may be speaking.  I tell myself I have faith and that I believe, and in my heart I do feel this way.  But do I show this faith?  Do I put forth the act of obedience by stepping out in faith or am I sitting back just waiting for my faith to come and find me with my miracle? Ouch! Yes, I’m stepping on my toes hard!

How many miracles are sitting at the door of faith, just waiting for us to be obedient, to take the first step of faith, to show action and not just words.  If the Lord has given you a promise, then we need to stand on that promise and believe in the promise.  BUT, we also need to show that we have faith in the promise becoming a reality by stepping out and showing the world how strongly we believe.  If I’m believing for salvation for my lost loved ones, I need to walk in faith, proclaiming their salvation.

In 1 Kings, Elijah told the widow to first feed him, and then the Lord would supply their needs.  The widow had to not only believe & have faith as to what Elijah was saying, but she had to act and to be obedient to God’s word.  She made the prophet a cake, and then her & her son were able to live because the barrel did not fail!!

The Lord is asking you to believe and to stand on His promises, but He wants you to not just believe in word alone……..show your faith to the world in your actions! Who knows what doors will open with the small act of obedience ~ faith in action!!

I’m not sure if I was able to convey what I’m feeling, but maybe the word will touch you like it has me tonight……..I don’t want to be an idle believer – I want my faith to have legs stepping out in total obedience!

 

 

Author: Michelle Drummond

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on April 5, 2011 at 4:28 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/fear-not-have-faith/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s my Chelle!

  2. wow!!! Powerful!!! yah, faith aint try and error nor is it a risk venture or an experiment.. Faith and its overflow-its actions must be inspired and wen this happens, a small size, as small as a mustard seed will move mountains.. God Bless U!!!


Leave a Reply

