Lessons from a Windshield

“Put off…the old man, which is corrupt…; And be ye renewed in the spirit of your mind; and that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.” Ephesians 4: 21 – 24

Yesterday I had a new windshield installed in my vehicle.  Sometime back a tiny rock had hit it and caused a small chip that, over time, became a huge crack which spread across the entire windshield.  It wasn’t obscuring my view or making it dangerous to drive, so I just let it be and watched it slowly take over.  I didn’t notice it often, just every once in a while I would think, “Wow, that crack is getting big!”  I find it interesting how the process of time makes stuff like that get worse.  I’d like to understand the physics behind it.  Is it the pressure of the wind, the change in the temperature, or just time that made it grow?  What caused it?  Who knows!  It’s just one of those things in life.  No big deal.  It didn’t matter anymore anyway because I had a new windshield!

I drove home thinking how nice it was to have a clean windshield.  Anyone that knows me can attest that I don’t often have a clean anything when it comes to my vehicle.  I was enjoying the fact that there were no bug guts, Rain-X remnants, or fingerprints all over the glass.  It was so clean it was almost like there was nothing there.  But then a big, juicy bug landed on my nice new windshield!  Go figure.  I didn’t know whether to turn the water on and wash it off, or if I should just wait and see if it would blow it off in a few minutes. I really didn’t want to streak my new windshield with bug guts.  Stupid bug—didn’t it see my big ole’ truck coming at it?  How could it have been blind-sided?  I ended up trying to wash it away, but apparently the bug had tree sap for lunch so it didn’t clean off well.  Stupid bug!

It made me think, though, about a person’s spiritual walk.  Of course you knew that, why else would I be writing, right? J  A new Christian, or someone who has recently gotten their spiritual man all washed and cleaned up, are like my new windshield.  We’ll go along feeling good for a while because our soul is clean, God is proud of us and all is right with the world (because all is right with God).  But it is inevitable that we are going to get dirty. We live in a dirty world, after all.  We’re travelling down God’s path and out of nowhere, SPLAT! Some ugly thing just drops out of the blue and messes up your spotless soul.  Stupid sin!  Immediately we try to get it off.  We go to our knees or the closest altar and get clean again.  The first few times this happens we cleanse and repeat, but then something hits us at a bad time, and we are busy or distracted so we try to wipe it away ourselves and have every intention of getting God to take care of it later.  But when you allow something minor to slip by, it becomes much easier to let every minor thing go until the minor things combine and you have a major mess on your hands.

The world is bound to get on you, and if you’re not careful, it will slip through your protective barriers and get in you—in your heart, in your mind, in your spirit.  Some things can be repaired, but a lot of times it has to be totally replaced.  We must guard our hearts.  We must be diligent to keep the world out of our heads and keep our hearts pure.  If God looked through your windshield today would He find it dirty, cracked, broken and in need of repair, or would He see that you have made every effort to keep it spotless before Him?

I could have avoided the huge crack in my windshield if I had gotten the little chip repaired right away.  But I waited too long and it got pretty bad.  But today it’s all better, and you know what?  I didn’t have to pay a penny because I had insurance.

Just like my windshield, you have a chance today to do that for your soul.  If you ask Him, right now, He will make you spotless before Him.  He is able to fix little things before they get out of hand.  And He is able to take the hopeless sin that you are bound in and bring you a new life.  Jesus loves you!  Learn a lesson from my windshield.  It’s not too late and you’re not too far gone and it won’t cost you a thing because He already paid for it.  He’s your insurance to heaven!  If you’re broken, then let Him replace your brokenness with a perfect soul.   He’s waiting–all you have to do is ask!

 

 

Author: Trish Brannon

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on April 6, 2011 at 1:55 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/lessons-from-a-windshield/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A wonderful lesson indeed for all of us .
    P.S. Please can you allow me to share it on facebook ? I’m one of your friends and also i would like to be receiving the posts on my email . Please reply .
    Thank you and God bless .

    • Thank you! We would love for you to share it on your facebook, however we are experiencing some technical difficulties with our ‘share’ button at the moment. If you copy and paste the link to your FB status you are able to share the posting that way.

      If you would like to receive the new blog posts via email please click the subscribe button, which is found on the right side of the page.

      Thank you for following the blog and for your kind words. We sincerely appreciate it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

