No Pain, No Gain

“9Furthermore we have had fathers of our flesh which corrected us, and we gave them reverence: shall we not much rather be in subjection unto the Father of spirits, and live? 10For they verily for a few days chastened us after their own pleasure; but he for our profit, that we might be partakers of his holiness. 11Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.” Hebrews 12:9-11 

Do you enjoy pain, correction or chastisement? I know I don’t, but even though this is something that I do not enjoy, it is a necessary part of life. Growing up with parents who were more conservative and stricter than many of the parents today, I fully understand this part of life. And I fully believe this discipline has helped to shape me into the person I am today.

My Daddy had four daughters, and his work was cut out for him. He wanted the very best for us, but in turn, expected the best from us. He expected us to help with daily chores, to make our beds and straighten up our rooms before leaving for school, and be responsible for our actions. Many days, I tried to get by with half-way doing what was asked of me, or to skip it completely and hope I could sweet talk my way out of the discipline that was sure to follow for not doing my part. Especially when it came to making my bed in the mornings…..I still to this day cannot stand to make up my bed! But every time I did not follow through with me chores, my Daddy was sure to follow through with his discipline. He had the dreaded wooden lint brush that would find its way to my backside in hopes of reminding me that his word was to be taken serious, and this chastisement would help me to remember this in the future. And most days it did, as my sisters and I hated that lint brush (so did my Momma), and made every effort to avoid the meetings with it; but we were kids/teenagers, and inevitably, we would test our Daddy’s words and face the consequences once again…… OUCH!!

This is so true even in our personal relationship with our Heavenly Father. He wants the very best for us, but in turn, He also expects us to give Him our very best. He has asked us to be ministers of His word, to be compassionate, to be obedient to His guiding, and to do our daily “chores”, i.e. pray, read our Bible and love one another. But there are days when the flesh side of us wants to be lazy, rebellious or just plain fleshly, and we don’t follow the commandments that have been laid before us. We slip into the flesh side and hope that with a little repentance we can sweet talk our Father into not chastising us for our mistakes. But His word clearly tells us, it is grievous for us not to be chastised, even though we would count it joy not to receive that spanking, but in the end it would not profit us to not learn from our mistakes.

There are also times, when we have followed our Father’s word, both physical and spiritual Fathers, but we still receive chastisement or correction. This is not a punishment; this is a trimming away of bad character or bad habits that are forming within our life. Our Father is watching us daily, talking with us and guiding us; and during these daily times of fellowship, He is noticing weeds or nasty fruit that is trying to grow and take over within our hearts. So before this weed can take hold, He takes out his pruning shears and begins to trim away those bad vines so they cannot take root and spread or put forth bad fruit. These times can also be painful, because it may not seem to be a bad thing in our life, but we cannot see the big picture and may not realize where this bad fruit is trying to lead us.

There are many things in this earthly world which seem harmless and fun, but in our Father’s eyes, He sees the destruction and harm that can come from continuing in these things. One example for me is music. Back in 1996, I was convicted of listening to music other than gospel music. This was a personal conviction and not one He has laid on everyone’s heart. And this was hard – I wasn’t doing anything bad while listening to this music, and I enjoy listening to country music and music from my younger years. But the Lord saw something in this music that He does not want to be a part of my life, so he has cut that from my life. Is this to say that I never listen to any music except gospel? I have to say that is my goal, but at the same time, I do not force my conviction on others, so there are times when I do hear other music. During these times, I try to keep my mind focused on other things and not focus on the music. Do I slip and enjoy the music, YES! Does the Lord remind me of my conviction…..YES!! And I accept my spanking, get my focus back where it is supposed to be and thank my Father for correcting me.

Today, are you experiencing a battle with things in your life that the Lord wants you to let go of, but you can’t understand or see the reasoning behind it? Please understand, He sees the future, He knows the plans He has for you, and He knows what’s best for your life. Yield to Him, even though it may be painful or hard to let go, and know without a shadow of a doubt, that He is using this to help you move closer to Him. The pruning process is always hard and at times painful, but each time he prunes us, good fruit grows more plentiful and our steps lead us to a closer walk with our Father.

Author: Michelle  Drummond

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

www.drummondband.com

Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 9:26 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/no-pain-no-gain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love this verse, and this post has made me to think twice especially the music! I love rap music, yet after listening to it, i used to fell spiritually empty, yet it’s difficult to stop listening to it.

    Thank you for this post dear! Be blessed


Leave a Reply

