Satan Knows My Name

“And if your right hand serves as a trap to ensnare you or is in an occasion for you to stumble and sin, cut it off and cast it from you.  It is better that you lose one of your members than that your entire body should be cast into hell.” Matthew 5:30

Given my line of work as an Addictions Treatment Counselor, I have the opportunity to speak with many different individuals from every different walk of life. I have counseled very successful men who became dependent on a substance to fill a void in their life. I have also counseled men whose life seemed as if it was designed for failure. The one thing that all these men have in common, no matter their history, is their inability to rationally say no. They are addicted to something that has clouded their rational perception of life. Their thought processes have been consumed by feeding their addiction. They have lost ability to objectively look at situations and make beneficial decisions. It’s the counselor’s responsibility to bring to light these thinking errors that has led to poor decisions. This reshaping of an individual’s thought process is called Rational Self Analysis. The process of putting this into place effectively…is called hard work…and at times, painful work.

Paul put into words the fight within man so beautifully. He basically said that the things I ought not to do, I do it…and the things that I should be doing, I don’t. This is called the “flesh”. The part of an individual that wars against what is right. The flesh wants us to react to certain situations in ways that wouldn’t be pleasing to our Savior. The flesh wants us to continue in the same sin that caused us to make bad decisions and lose focus on who and what God would have us to be and do. The men I counsel tell me often, “I know now that I shouldn’t have done it, but I thought I was strong enough to handle it at the time.” But assumptions are not reality.

Sin works the same in the Christians life. It shows no favoritism among the individuals it affects. It doesn’t matter what walk of life the person comes from or who they are. The devil shows no sentimentality to the life of the believer. Just the opposite, Satan is intimidated by a believer who has completely sold out for Jesus Christ. He knows that this is opposition to his purpose. “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy…” John 10: 10a. He will do his absolute best to destroy an individual who has the potential to lead a lost soul to Jesus. He will remind the believer of failures, guilt, and shame. He will seclude them from the family of Christ and convince them that this is how they should live their life. But, this is isn’t so. This isn’t the promise of those who are called according to the will of God. Yes, the thief does come to steal, kill, and destroy. But, the rest of the verse reads, “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” John 10: 10b. Abundant life…abundant joy…abundant victory….this is all found at the feet of our Savior. We have to know this as truth though. We have to know the truth of God’s word and who He is. We have to understand what Christ desires for His children. If we, as Christians, truly understood who Jesus is than we would take hold of the promises He has selflessly provided. As children of God, we have the ability to stand against Satan and proclaim with confidence that, “No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment though shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.” Isaiah 54:17.

Because we have these precious promises that our Savior has given us…and because we have the ability to walk in joy and happiness….because of ALL that Jesus has done for me…I refuse to stay defeated. I refuse to allow the devil a moment of satisfaction at my expense. I can look back at my life and see where I have given place to the devil and allowed him to steal my peace. I can look back and recognize poor decisions on my part that led to the loss of more than I care to dwell on. And because I know that these are areas in my life that I need to guard against my stumbling again in sin, I have made the choice to cut these things out of my life. This process has hurt and still hurts today…but I know the end result of allowing this in my life and I am not willing to walk that road again. I am not willing to part with more than I have already lost. I have most certainly lost some precious things as a result of the decision I made to cut some things from my life…but I will lose a few precious things if the end result is keeping my soul from Hell. Some people don’t understand why I have made the decisions I have and honestly, I don’t care to reason with them. God and I know why. That’s all that matters.

Just like I tell the men I counsel…it’s not a weakness to recognize what your limitations are. It’s a strength. You have to know who you are…good and bad to be able to walk this road called life. Use what you are blessed with and stay clear of what could steal your blessing. Cut things out of your life that could cause you to stumble and take hold of the Word of God. Don’t dwell on the things that brought the weaknesses to your attention and instead praise God that you can make the decision to not repeat the same things again. Just because you choose to walk away from stumbling blocks doesn’t mean that you won’t face the enemy again. But facing Satan helps to assure me that evidently I am doing something right for the kingdom of God. Evidently, Satan sees something within this servant of Christ that threatens his prosperity…and that makes me happy. Yes, the devil knows my name and he attempts to come against me over and over it seems. But the Lord of Heaven and Earth also knows my name. He has written it in the palm of His hand and it is there that I am kept from all the fiery darts of hell. I refuse to give up. I pray that this same passion will burn in your heart. Cut out that which could cause you to stumble in sin and press toward the mark of a higher calling in Jesus Christ.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved


Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 8:52 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/satan-knows-my-name/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So as a Christian I need to meditate mostly on Gods word cause it’s where I’ll find my daily strength.

    • Absolutely.

  2. Lord may your word heal all the captives,and deliver them from their destructions !(Amen)

  3. Thank you Britney , you’ve really touched my heart and soul , the word is a blessing to me and I really appreciate it , God bless you .

    P.S : Please may I copy – paste it on my blog ?

    • You sure can. Just please give credit to Britney as the author, and link back to our site for reference.

      Thank you so much for reading.. 🙂

  4. […] Satan Knows My Name (via Devotions of Grace) Posted on May 5, 2011 by juanmuriango "And if your right hand serves as a trap to ensnare you or is in an occasion for you to stumble and sin, cut it off and cast it from you.  It is better that you lose one of your members than that your entire body should be cast into hell." Matthew 5:30 Given my line of work as an Addictions Treatment Counselor, I have the opportunity to speak with many different individuals from every different walk of life. I have counseled very successful men w … Read More […]

  5. Thank you for allowing me , I’ve reblogged it on my blog juanmuriango.wordpress.com and also shared it on facebook with my friends . God bless .

    • You’re very welcome. Thank you.

  6. Keep up the good work on this blog!


Leave a Reply

