More Than Enough

I spoke to a man the other day that is serving a life sentence for a crime he committed over 20 years ago.  When I learned that he was serving a life sentence it surprised me.  This man seems to have a smile etched on his face.  He wishes everyone a good day and is very respectful to others.  Other inmates go to him for advice.  They ask him for help and he does what he can to assist them.  My curiosity finally got the best of me and I asked him, “Why are you so happy?  You are in prison!” He smiled at me…and with light shining in his eyes, this inmate taught me one of the greatest lessons I’ve learned.  He said, “Ms. Wilkes, being in prison is a state of mind.  I’m just as free as I choose to be.”

A free person who has every right given to man can be in prison in their mind.  A man who has all the financial security this world can offer can be poor.  An individual who has every possession, nice clothes, a fancy home, and a wonderful family can be lonely.  These perspectives are all found in your state of mind.  If you change your perspective, you can change your state of mind.  And in order to change your perception, you have to change your view point…the way you look at situations.

I was upset about a situation that was going on in my life the other week.  I spoke with my best friend about it and I told her that I was tired of being upset.  Life will always be life…and with life comes situations that aren’t going to always be comfortable.  Every individual will go through hard times.  I had grown to the point where I realized this as reality and I had finally become tired of allowing the situations around me to change my state of mind.  I want to be happy when I shouldn’t be happy….when life seems to offer pain, I want to feel peace.  I wanted to be like that inmate!  He is in prison but he is FREE!  We’ve all heard lessons taught on how it is easy to offer praises to God when life is easy, but when hard times  come we question the God we are serving.  It’s a good lesson to be taught.  But I’ve already come through enough to know that my God is going to be with me.  He has yet to fail me so history has concluded that he wont fail me in the future.  So, I began praying that God would allow me this happiness.  “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.  I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound:  everywhere and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.” – Philippians 4: 11-13.

God spoke and told me through His word that I was looking toward this world and man to strengthen me.  He reminded me that through Christ I can find this happiness.  I can be happy when everything around me seems to be failing if I allow God to provide my strength.  He reminded me to consume His word daily.  God is truth and the word He has given His children speaks His truth. “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall set you free.” – John 8:32.  A man in prison can have freedom in his mind if he chooses this freedom.

Satan loves to attack the mind of the believer.  If he can consume them with their present situations he can cloud them from viewing a better future.  But the truth of God’s word tells us, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.   And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29: 11 – 13.  If he can cloud our vision of who God is then we forget ALL He has done.  But we serve a God that speaks to peace and calms the raging seas.  We serve a God called to a dead man and commanded him to “COME FORTH!”….and he came forth.  We serve a God that stepped from the majesty of Heaven to save a lost soul such as mine.  So this present situation that the devil would use to mock me and imprison my mind is NOT too big for my God.

I’m happy today because I choose to be.  I’m happy because I know the truth of who my God is…and He is more than enough….more than sufficient..He is more than able to take care of me.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on May 17, 2011 at 12:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/more-than-enough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

