Testify

“And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony” – Revelation 12:11

This blog is a ministry. Not only for others, but for me…and at times I feel more so for me. I have found myself writing at certain milestones in my life. They are the places where God spoke to me about certain areas that I needed His penmanship…His guidance. Over these last few months I’ve read over my devotions a few times. I can remember the pain I felt as a penned the words of Picking Up Stones…Broken Pieces…A Man Who Will Take Me To Church. I also remember the victory I felt when writing I Will Remember and Lover of My Soul. As I’m writing, I’m smiling…I feel the victory…and it is overwhelming how humbled I am by His grace. But I’m still close enough to the pain that I’m reminded of where my help comes from. Tonight, honestly, I’m still Defeating My Goliath of fear. This morning, in my prayer time, I still found myself calling on my Savior to help me let go of insecurities. At times, I become frustrated with myself because on certain days I still feel so broken. And on these days it’s easier to allow Satan to poke at my old wounds. Cliff Kirkland wrote a song, “I’m Still Here.” It speaks of the struggle that we sometimes find ourselves in when learning to overcome our flesh. I relate to his words. I’ve cried a few times and said those words. My natural eye looks at my visible surroundings and I shout at God, “I’m STILL here…right here…in this pain. I’m still battling my same fear!” But as God will sometimes do…He, again, made Himself real to me.

One year ago, I had lost my song. One year ago, I didn’t feel I had a thing to offer another individual. One year ago, I was certain that I would hurt forever. But, oh what a difference God makes. Last night, I stood in a church and with some of my dear friends present (my best friend on the front row) and I sang these words, “I just came from the throne room today. I’ve been talking with Him. I was reminded where I am and where I’ve been. I’ve sailed many water rough and deep. But Someone has sailed each one with me. Safely and surely, I’ve rode the storm with my dearest Friend. And oh I am safe thus far…” It was another milestone for me. My best friend has had a front row seat to all my pain this last little while. I looked at her when I sang those words about my being reminded of where I am. God snapped His fingers at me. It was as if He said that, “People are watching you. What are you going to tell them? Are you going to fail the test or are you going to make this a testimony. The devil tried his best to steal my joy and victory last night. But tonight, I’m writing to testify that I remember where He brought from. I remember the loss of who I was…the loss of everything I knew as secure. I remember feeling so hopeless and not being sure of how or where to begin again. There are days that I feel I’m still there…but I know that I’m not. I’ve been tossed around and I’ve had a few hard blows. Who hasn’t? But my Savior has brought me through each storm…and I am safe thus far on my journey.

Don’t give up. Don’t settle on the desires that God has placed in your heart. If God has given you a promise than He will bring it to pass. If He has told you He was going to take you through than guarantee, one way or another, you will be brought through. I was reminded of how far I’ve come. I’m aware that there is still progress that must be made but I am so thankful that I’m not still there…in that same hurt. I’m also so thankful that I have my Savior to pilot this journey I’m on.

There is a congregation sitting back and watching you. They are watching how you will respond to your trials. I’m going to make my test a testimony. I’m safe thus far…and if God allows me the privilege, I will write again to testify of my victory that I am still safe in the arms of my Savior.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved


Published in: on May 31, 2011 at 1:12 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/testify/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. *deep breath* Wow Brit. Yes, yes you will honey! You are safe, you have been kept, and you will continue to heal and be ministered to and through. I am so proud of you. You may be down sometimes, but you’re never out. Go girl. Go!

    • Thank you Love. : )

  2. safe this far…wow, Brit I can feel those dodads running up and down my arms! What God is doing to you and thru you is absolutely amazing, but then when we let go and let God that is what happens to us, Amazing Father that He is!! Even tho we haven’t met I feel that you are a part of my family, and I guess that is right cause we are all God’s family. I know that I have been down this road you are traveling and can idenify with you in so many ways, just as I’m sure others can…keep on writing girl, God is watching you and I sure He’s telling everyone that’s my girl!!!!Can’t seem to find the right word to describe just how much this touched me…thank you

    • Thank you so very, very much. Your words mean so much to me. We are family. 🙂 Indeed.

  3. I need more of God in my life!!!!

  4. This is so inspirational!!

  5. Many testimonies are still coming your way. God loves you, remaing blessed.


Leave a Reply

