Broken Vessels

I’ve written before and shared that my best friend sings with a southern gospel group, “The Drummond Family”.  Initially, when I began going to sings where they were ministering, I was going to support my best friend…but as time passed I began to grow close to this family.  They are a huge blessing in my life.  God has used their ministry in His process of healing my once broken heart.

This weekend I was able to attend all their sings.  There wasn’t one service that the presence of the Lord left a hungry soul wanting.  His Spirit was so sweet…so rich.  Becky Nixon sings a song that the Perry’s originally recorded called, “Did I Mention..”  It’s a beautiful song that testifies of the complete and satisfying love of a merciful Savior.  I couldn’t help but raise my hands in surrender to my Lord.  I couldn’t hold back my tears of gratefulness.  My soul responds to its Creator when I feel His Spirit moving.  Praise seems to be the only avenue that my heart can travel when it desires that fellowship.  People may say that I’m partial to praising during these times because I’m partial to the singers…and it’s true.  I am partial to this family.  Even more so because I know where their song comes from.  They are simply vessels…vessels that at times have been broken by the circumstances of life.  Vessels that allowed God to place them on His potters wheel and mold them…to fill the cracked places that were used to empty their own self so that God could fill them with His grace.

I have come to believe that God desires broken vessels.  I believe that God can take that which is broken and mold it over again.  I believe that cracks in broken vessels, the places that life has broken our spirit, can be used to empty the hurt and the pain.  They can be used for my good.  The Word promises this actually, “And we know that all things work together for the good of those who love the Lord, who are called according to His purpose.” – Romans 8:28.  When we realize this and allow God to begin molding the vessel…that’s when God can begin to pour of Himself.

This is our decision though.  We can become bitter toward life when the hurt comes…or we can allow God to use these times as opportunities to work for our good.  It truly is better felt than told.  My greatest efforts in writing about the fullness of knowing God will fall drastically short.  My spirit bears witness with the Psalmist and urges you, “O taste and see that the Lord is good..” – Psalm 34:8

If you are broken please don’t allow bitterness to form in your life.  Allow God to mold those hurts and fill them with His grace.

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Published in: on June 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/broken-vessels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well written!

    • Thank you E!

  2. Thanks Britt, my heart is so heavy today. Your words spoke to my hurt. You are an awesome young woman of God, and I am proud to call you friend…

    • I feel the same way. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Thank you for listening and allowing God to flow through the words that you pen. Got it God!

    • Thank you. I appreciate your reading. It means a lot!

  4. […] Broken Vessels (via Devotions of Grace)   Leave a comment I've written before and shared that my best friend sings with a southern gospel group, "The Drummond Family".  Initially, when I began going to sings where they were ministering, I was going to support my best friend…but as time passed I began to grow close to this family.  They are a huge blessing in my life.  God has used their ministry in His process of healing my once broken heart. This weekend I was able to attend all their sings.  There w … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

