Before the Darkness Falls

“And when they crucified Him, they divided His garments, casting lots for them to determine what every man should take.” – Mark 15:24

We were singing at a Fourth of July Celebration on Sunday night. The Drummond Family had taken the stage and their table became so busy with individuals buying CD’s, purses, t-shirts…The kids were having a good time playing. My two are still young enough that I can keep them in a relatively close area to me…but my best friends two…they can get away pretty quickly. We knew that her youngest should have been on the bus watching a movie because that is where we last left him, but in what couldn’t have been more than just a few minutes…he was gone. We couldn’t find him. My best friend searched the bus…nothing. We scanned the crowds that were closest to us…nothing. The announcer came over the PA system and gave us the five-minute warning that the lights on the ball field would be turned off for the fireworks. We began searching harder…nothing. My chest began hurting. A sick feeling settled in my stomach. I can’t begin to imagine what my best friend was feeling when she kept searching but couldn’t find her son. We called for him…nothing. I searched the play houses where the kids had been playing but most had already been taken down because the fireworks were about to begin. And then the panic rose as darkness settled over the field. I could barely see in front of me much less into the crowd of what was estimated to be around 10,000 people. I began making my way to my best friend because I knew she would be in an uproar now that the lights were out. I don’t imagine that I will ever forget her face. She is known for her joy and smile but instead fear now took their place. She continued searching and I knelt with my 3-year-old and began praying. Moments later I heard these amazing set of words, “We found him.” Instant relief flooded my heart and my best friend was able to breathe again.

Later, while we were watching the fireworks, our family in one place and together, my best friend told me that she was scared but ok when we could see to look for him…but when the lights went out and she began to panic….

God spoke to my spirit. I began to relate this scare to those who are playing games in their walk with Jesus. How often will we take for granted the mercy and forgiveness of our Savior while we still continue in the sin that we are in? How often do we justify our present sin by comparing it to our past sin or the struggles that others are facing? Are we not grateful of the sacrifice that Jesus gave?

Mark 15:24 displays an awesome parallel. Our Savior…Jesus Christ…He who knew no sin…was crucified. The most significant act that mankind will ever know just played out right before these soldiers eyes. They could see the blood and the incomparable horror that Jesus suffered….but instead of attempting to grasp the depth of this love…they were casting lots…gambling. They were playing games at the foot of the cross.

We do this. When we choose to live in sin…when we choose to give in to our fleshly desires…we are playing games. We are gambling our future against the reality that Jesus could come in those very moments. “No man knows the day or the hour..” Matthew 24:36a We don’t know the exact time that Jesus will return, but my spirit has been so stirred these last few months over the return of our Savior. Now isn’t the time to play games. Now isn’t the time to gamble your eternity over a temporary pleasure. I love the parable beginning in Matthew 24:43 and can relate to it so easily. If I knew that someone was coming to my house to attempt to steal my possessions or harm my children, I wouldn’t just sit there and see what happened. I would guard my house. I would call someone. I would do something to make sure that what was mine, remained mine!

“Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh.” – Matthew 24:44. Be ready! Guard your heart and your home and be ready. The Word says that at an hour you think not, the Son of man will return. Don’t be caught playing games…looking for something to satisfy a longing that serves no eternal purpose…because like last night….the darkness could fall…and if you couldn’t see to make your way home in the light, how do you think that you would be able to make it home in the dark?

My heart is so burdened as I write this post. I am urging you…quit playing games and taking the sacrifice that Jesus Christ so willingly offered for granted. Are you playing games at the foot of His cross? If so, stop. Don’t take Jesus for granted. He will return…darkness will fall. Please, find your way home while there is still light.

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 11:40 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/before-the-darkness-falls/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen

  2. Oh wow!!! Glory bumps all over, awesome words my friend!! Awesome…

  3. nice site,so inspiring.Godbless you,shalom shalom.


Leave a Reply

