Vengeance is Mine

Have you ever made this statement when you are angry or having a battle with someone: “I don’t get even, I get ahead” or “revenge is sweet”? All too often, we think of how we can get back at someone who has done us wrong instead of thinking how we can forgive this person and pray for them. It is human nature to want to fight back or make them pay for what they have done to us – make them feel worse than how they have made us feel.

 

But wait, what does God’s word tell us? Romans 12:19 says, “Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.” Ouch! This verse really steps on my toes. I am terrible about wanting to get ‘one up’ on the person who has done me wrong. But I am having to learn to bite my tongue, swallow my pride, cover my mouth, walk away.…..whatever it takes to keep myself in check and let the Lord handle the situation. Some days it’s not an easy task, but with perseverance I am learning this lesson.

 

As I read further in Romans 12, we’re not only told to leave vengeance to the Lord, but we are to feed our enemies if they are hungry, give them drink if they are thirsty, bless those who persecute us, do not give evil for evil, and live peaceably with all. You mean I have to be nice to those who hurt me, accuse me, disrespect me and in all ways try to bring evil upon my life? That is a tough job!

 

Since I rededicated my life to the Lord in 1996, there have been many struggles and trials thrown at me by the world. So many “friends” remember me from my previous life, and many do not want to accept the change in me. And although I want to remind them of past faults or say things to hurt them, I have to show them I have really changed. Can I say that I have always been able to walk away or keep my mouth shut, uh…..unfortunately, NO. But when I have been able to control myself, I have felt much better about myself and the situation always seems to work out…..…because my Father is taking care of business just like He said He would. I am His child, His daughter, His princess, why do I think He wouldn’t do this for me when His word states it so plainly?

 

As a mother, this begins to get even harder. When it comes to protecting my children, I can be a little hot-headed (and that’s putting it mildly). My Momma used to call me a little banty rooster when I would get in this mode. You mess with my babies, and I can come unglued pretty quickly. But even in this situation, the Lord wants us to let him handle the payback…….this is a very hard task for me. Now I’m not saying to let people walk all over your children, but I am saying, don’t turn it into revenge. Protect and watch over your children, but don’t get carried away. Our Father loves them more than we do (I know that’s hard to imagine) and He has it all under control!

 

Through all of these years, Romans 12 has become one of my favorite chapters in the Bible. It reminds me that I am not to conform to this world, I am not to be a part of this world; but I am to live as peaceably as possible with this world showing love, abhorring evil and reaching out to others.

 

Author: Michelle Drummond

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

 

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 2:49 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/vengeance-is-mine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I will admit that though i’m born again but Istill struggle with anger, yes I can control it but there are times that I just fail and explode! May the Lord help me on that area.
    Thanks dear!
    God bless you!anger, yes I can control it but there are times that I just fail and explode! May the Lord help me on that area.
    Thanks dear!
    God bless you!

  2. Thanks Chelle, I know about that banty mode…I have that same mode…you don’t mess with my kids! Good word, glad He’s still working on me! Love you…

  3. Cock-a-doodle-doo! Lol. Good job Chelle!


Leave a Reply

