Peculiar

I’ve never watched the movie E.T.  I’ve never wanted to watch it.  The idea of an alien landing in your backyard and then taking it inside and feeding it is truly a strange concept for me to grasp.  It really is.  If an alien landed in my backyard, I promise, there would be no sharing of my candy or home…at all.  Not to mention…E.T. is an ugly little creature.  That thing is just not cute at all.  It looks like a dried up prune!  And seriously…it’s finger glows!  Strange!

I left to go pay a bill at lunch and listened as a guy on the radio talked about this movie.  God snapped His fingers at me and I realized…I had something in common with this ugly little alien.  “E.T. phone home”…the alien repeats…  He had an overwhelming desire to go home.  I laughed at myself when I realized that me and E.T. weren’t so different after all…because I don’t desire to stay here either…this isn’t my home.  I’m just passing though.  I desire to go and be with my Father.

“For he looked for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God.” -Hebrews 11:10.
People look at me a little differently than some.  I’ve been called peculiar a time or two.  But that is what I’m suppose to be.  1 Peter 2:9 tells me that I am called to be peculiar…so I feel I’m just living up to my expectation.  I would rather be labeled peculiar than to fit in with a world that will surely fade away.
So…call me an alien….peculiar…different….it doesn’t matter.  As long as I’m called a child of God…than I’ll gladly live in my peculiar world. 
Author: Britney Wilkes
Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved
Published in: on July 12, 2011 at 11:49 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/peculiar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ET was adorable. Perfectly adorable. 🙂 Good post dear.

    • Gertrude…I love you, but that thing wasn’t adorable by any stretch of the imagination…lol


Leave a Reply

