Are You Prepared to Climb?

Have you ever climbed a mountain, and in this sense, I’m thinking physically climbed a mountain? I haven’t, but I can only imagine how hard and tiresome the climb would be. Even though the climb would be something I wanted to do, a goal I wanted to accomplish; it would still be a difficult task and my body and mind would need rest and nourishment to continue to make the climb to the top. But oh what a feeling when I reached the top!

 

Thinking in the spiritual, I believe climbing these mountains are just as difficult and tiresome even though they are not physically being climbed. But to make these climbs, we must still keep our bodies and minds rested and nourished to reach the top. In doing so, we can keep the strength to move forward, to take the next step, to climb a little higher…….to make it to our goal!

 

But how do we nourish & rest ourselves spiritually? I know in the physical sense, I would need food, water and sleep. But what would do the trick for my spiritual man? The spirit man also needs food, water and sleep…..but they come in a different form.

 

Food……in the natural form is the meat of our nourishment. It’s where we receive our sustenance to continue the physically journey. What we consume gives us strength for our body and mind to be able to stand in the midst of the struggle as we climb. Food…….in the spiritual form is the meat of our soul. Jesus told us in Luke 4:4, “And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.” We need God’s word to help us to live; we cannot live by only feeding our physical man, but we must feed our spiritual man through reading & studying God’s word. This is what will give us the strength we need to stand as we face our spiritual mountain and to continue to climb.

 

Water makes up approximately 60% of our physical body. We cannot survive without water in our lives. This is also true for our spiritual man…..we need the living water of our Father to keep us alive and refreshed. In John 7:38, we see that our living water comes from believing, “He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” If only we can believe, such a simple task, just believe, and we can have rivers of living water! What an awesome promise to know that such a necessary part of life can come through only a simple task as believing!

 

Sleep is a natural and important part of the physical life and as well for the spiritual life. We cannot function physically or mentally if we do not at some point give our flesh rest. We must sleep to renew and refresh our bodies, to allow the nourishment we have given it to restore strength. This is true as well for our spiritual bodies. If we do not give ourselves a chance to rest in the Lord, for Him to renew and refresh our souls, we can become dry and desolate…..unable to continue the journey. Psalm 37:7a states, “Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him.” We must not get ahead of the Lord on our journey or we’ll be climbing in vain. We must take time to reach a plateau, lie down, rest in the arms of the Lord, and allow Him to restore our strength for the journey ahead. We cannot do anything without the help of the Lord……but Philippians 4:13 says,” I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

So as you see, even though I have not made a physical journey up a mountain, I do believe that the concepts for a spiritual mountain climb are the same as the ones needed for a physical climb. Before I make the journey, I must prepare myself. And even as I am on the journey, I must constantly keep myself in shape, eating, drinking and resting as needed to keep me strong. I don’t want to give out or give up half way up the mountain and face failure or repeat the same steps again. I want to keep myself strong for the climb keeping my goals in front of me……reaching for the top, strong and full of energy, ready to take on the next mountain! Help me Lord to keep my spiritual man ready at all times for the mountain you have for me to climb – make me a Mountain Climber! “Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long suffering and doctrine.” 2 Timothy 4:2

 

 

Author: Michelle Drummond

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

 

Published in: on July 19, 2011 at 9:47 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/are-you-prepared-to-climb/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. AMEN! THANK LORD JESUS FOR THIS SOUL FOOD. MAKE ME A MOUNTAIN CLIMBER OH LORD, PREPARE ME, MAKE ME READY SPIRITUAL TO CLIMB ALL THE MOUNTAINS OF LIFE I WILL FACE IN JESUS NAME AMEN!


Leave a Reply

