The Way of Holiness

“And a highway shall be there, and a way, and it shall be called The Way of Holiness, the unclean shall not pass over it; but it shall be for those: the wayfaring men, though fools, shall not err therein….but the redeemed shall walk there.”  Isaiah 35:8, 9b.The Way of Holiness.  This phrase has always struck me with an air of reverence.  I read this as a young girl and can still remember the way it stirred my soul.  The book of Isaiah taught me that there was to be a difference between those who called themselves Christians and those who didn’t.  The more I studied the Word of God, the more I realized that if I took up the name of Christ than I was taking up more than a title…I was taking up a lifestyle.  This lifestyle would define all the decisions that I made.  It would define what I spoke about and the places I would go.  This lifestyle would separate me from the popular trends of today’s society that is widely accepted as normal routine.  As a Christian, I couldn’t talk about some of the things that others talked about.  I couldn’t listen to some of the same music nor could I watch some of the same things that others watched on television.  I learned that I couldn’t visit some of the places that others visited.  Where this did separate me as part of the “crowd” at times, I also learned that I didn’t desire those things.  My hearts desire began to be one of holiness.

The dictionary defines holiness as the “state of being holy, separate.”  In other words, there is a definite boundary that separates you from this world.  The Word tells us that we are to be separate.  We, as Christians, are called to live a life that is separate from this world.  Individuals that felt ridiculed because of the decisions they were making in comparison to another coined the phrase, “Holier than though”.  Our decisions to separate ourself from the world should be because we feel we are “better” than they are…but because we desire a “better” way of life.  The book of Isaiah tells us that there will be a highway in Heaven and those that will walk on that highway will be the redeemed.  It also tell us that those “fools” will not have their place there.  Those who are silly, imprudent…those who act unwisely will not walk on this way of holiness.  There has to be a conscious effort on our part at times to walk this way of holiness.  At times we have to “crucify our flesh” over and over…but the reward will be great…
To be called “redeemed”…to hear my Father say, “Well done my good and faithful servant”…This is what truly will matter in this life…and to be able to do this we must be separate from this world.  There must be a difference in the way we walk, talk, and uphold ourself.
Author: Britney Wilkes
Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved
Published in: on August 4, 2011 at 5:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/thewayofholiness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

