God Is There

 Jesus! Name of wondrous love,
Human name of God above!
Pleading on this, we flee
Helpless, O our God, to thee.

    – William W. How, 1854

 

Bill and Gloria Gaither summed my thoughts up best when they penned the lyric, “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus…there’s just something about that name.” Isn’t there? Robert J. Morgan writes in his book, “He Shall Be Called,” Jesus is the New Testament version of the Old Testament name Joshua, and it comes from two shorter Hebrew words – the name Jehovah coupled with the verb “to save”. Literally, “Jehovah Saves” or “Jehovah Delivers”.

There have been times in my life when I didn’t have the ability to form the appropriate words to explain the cries of my heart.  Instead, I would kneel in prayer and call on the name of Jesus. In speaking the name of Jesus I have felt a calming peace in the midst of such uncertainty. That peace…the peace that can only call to that brokenness…truly passes all my understanding.  It’s this desire to attempt to grasp the depth of the meaning of His name that led me to study “Jehovah Shamma – The Lord is There.”

In first reading, “The Lord is There,” I wasn’t caught up with wonder. Certainly, the Lord is there…but where exactly?  Everywhere and anywhere…The Lord IS there.  My heart began to rejoice as my spirit began to realize that God IS there.  His name defines the very literal essence of the word “there”.  The Lord is THERE in my pain.  He is THERE in my joy.  He is THERE in the depth of my confusion.  He is THERE in my realization.  Jehovah Shamma – The Lord is there.  “Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death”, God is there.  “Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your Presence?  If I ascend into heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.  If I take wings of the morning, and dwell in the most utter parts of the sea, even there Your hand shall hold me.” Psalm 139: 7-10.  I can never escape God.  Anywhere I could fathom to go would not be out of the grasp of God because  He is there.

This comforts me.  To know that God is there in every phase and emotion of life…to know that even in my best attempts of escaping His presence…He would still be there…is so assuring.

Are you lonely?  Do you feel that you can’t be reached?  Are you lost?  Jehovah Shamma is there.  In every circumstance that seems hopeless…He’s there.  In every situation that seems outside of all possible intervention…He’s there.

God IS there.

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on August 10, 2011 at 10:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/god-is-there/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

