He Restoreth My Soul

“When I’m low in Spirit

I cry Lord lift me up

I want to go higher with thee

But the Lord know I can’t live on a mountain

So He picked out a valley for me.

And He leads me beside still waters

Somewhere in the valley below

He draws me aside

To be tested and tried

But in the valley He restoreth my soul

It’s dark as a dungeon

And the sun seldom shines

I question Lord why must this be

But He tells me there’s strength in my sorrow

And there’s victory in trials for me”

              – Dottie Rambo

There are certain songs that call to you.  They minister to your heart on a completely different level and almost seem to become apart of your spirit.  This song, “In the Valley”, spoke to me in just this way.  When I first heard this song I felt that I could relate to its message…but now, I feel this even more strongly.

The process of restoration is slow.  For even the process to begin it means that there has to have been a “wearing down” so to speak.  Structures…homes that require restoration have been lived in, at times not taken care of…maybe the proper maintenance wasn’t performed…and typically, this restoration requires the home to be completed “gutted”.  All that is old is taken out, tore up, and stripped.  This process isn’t easy and it takes time but it’s required if the restoration is to be completed.  Restoration doesn’t mean that the home is simply redecorated with a different shade of paint.  Restoration is a complete change with a noted difference.

The process of restoration was the same in my life.  It has been a slow process.  When God began to take out some things in my life that I had grown accustomed to…it hurt.  Like a home that needs restoration, we learn to live with certain inadequacies and faults.  We live with thebrokenness and make up for its lack by other means.  But when you are being restored, God requires that you let go of the old self so that He can restore the new self.  “Therefore, if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; Behold, all things are new.”  2 Corinthians 5:17.  Letting go hurts.  When I began to become accustomed to the new gifts that God has blessed me with, I felt a certain guilt.  I felt that I didn’t deserve such love or acceptance.  But God began to speak into my spirit that this is what He sent His Son to die for…to offer this unmerited grace to a people who were less than deserving.

I love the line in the song that reads, “He picked out a valley for me.”  “There hath no temptation overtaken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that which ye are able,but will with the temptation also make a way of escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13.  The trials that you and I face are not outside of the knowledge of God.  In fact, the valleys that we sometimes walk through were chosen so that they could mold us into an image that more resembles Christ.  The trials that burden us today will only work out for our good tomorrow.  Romans 8:28.

“He leads me beside still waters.” Psalms 23:2.  The comparison of our Savior to that of a shepherd is comforting to me.  To know that He is watching over me and making sure that my needs are met is a precious thought.  As a child I memorized Psalm 23.  I’m sorry to tell you that it became just that in my life…something I memorized.  But as this song began to minister to my heart, the Spirit began to deal with me about the “still waters” the Psalmist refers to.  In studying I found that a shepherd had to be careful where he allowed his sheep to drink.  If the water was too rough so that it splashed onto the sheep’s wool, it would become heavy…the water would burden them down so that they couldn’t continue to move.  So, even in the small details of Psalm 23, we see that God is caring for His children.  “He leads me beside the still waters”…I can become renewed by the waters with no fear of picking up extra burdens.  That is the valley He chose for me to walk through.  The process of restoration.

I’m letting go of the past….allowing God to move in a new way of thinking…a new way of living.  I’m accepting His grace and love and moving on to what He has called me to do in Him…  I’m thankful for this valley I have traveled in.  It has hurt me at times.  Letting go of things has caused me to question my own securities….but in letting go I’ve found it’s easier to look up.  And in looking up I see the most majestic mountains that are ahead of me.  In looking around I see the still waters that God is allowing me to become renewed at….and I’m thankful.  I’m thankful for these valleys.  He, indeed, is restoring my soul.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on August 13, 2011 at 8:27 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/he-restoreth-my-soul/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

