Mama’s Last Look

I was cleaning house this morning when 33Miles song, “One Life To Love”, came on. The Spirit began dealing with my heart about the message in this song. The lyrics of the chorus are, “You only get just one time around/You only get one shot at this/One chance to find out the one thing that you don’t want to miss/One day when it’s all said and done/I hope you see that it was enough/This one ride, one try, one life to love”.

 

I’m reminded of my Mama. On the night she died my family was with her in her bedroom. She was struggling to breathe. In the moments before she lost consciousness she looked at my Dad, my sister, and myself for a long time a piece. I wonder what she was thinking. I wonder if she knew that those looks were the last that she would see of her family on this side of life. I wonder if given another opportunity if she would have done things differently. We don’t know…because that night would be her last. Her one shot had been taken. Her last ride was over.

 

“Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow: For what is your life? It is even a vapor, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away”. James 4:14.

 

Mama died 11 years ago. In ways it doesn’t feel that I’ve turned around good…but 11 years are gone. Our family has moved on. “Circumstances change”…as she often said. Today, I’m grateful for that last look. I like to think she was telling us to live. Live today while we have the opportunity. James was right…we don’t know what tomorrows circumstances will hold. Tomorrow could very well be our last. Would you be able to look back and say that your life was enough?…Or are you so consumed with worries and fear that you can’t enjoy your present?

 

I counsel in a prison. I can’t tell you the number of men that have told me they never knew how to enjoy their life, so they would search for other means to create their happiness. Some men left their wives and children because they felt they had missed something in life. They now cry in my office because they missed their children growing up and their wife belongs to another man. Other men tell me they chased a dream of living a big life of riches only to be consumed by greed. And now they cry in my office because they don’t even own the blue uniform they are wearing. There have even been a few that cry because they had been hurt in the past someway…and because of that hurt they were afraid to love again. So they remained alone until alone turned into being lonely. Then lonely turned to a bottle of alcohol. Then the alcohol clouded all rational judgements and they lost their freedom to look for happiness in a free world.

 

I hear so many stories of people who are waiting to begin living one day when they have this or that. They will be happy one day when their dreams become reality. But what if one days dream never comes? Will you never have been happy?

 

God has given us such a beautiful gift. Today. He created this day for you and I to live and praise Him. He commanded the sun to rise this morning and shine its light so that we could enjoy the beauty of living. “This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it”. Psalm 118:24. I WILL rejoice! Sometimes we have to decide to be happy despite our circumstances. Today all the dreams you have dreamed may not have come to pass…but that doesn’t mean that you can’t be happy with what you do have today.

 

So, Mom’s…don’t get so angry when the kids spill their drink and cheerio’s in the back seat. Clean it up later but take the opportunity to sing loud with them now. Dad’s…there may be fishing trips and nights out with the boys that would prove to be a wonderful time…but the kids are only little once…and one day it won’t be as important to them that you are watching their game.

 

Live your life and learn to love your life. We really do only get one shot. We have got to make it count.

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on August 13, 2011 at 10:27 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/mamaslastlook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

