I Know the Peace Speaker

“And when he was entered into a ship, his disciples followed him. And, behold, there arose a great tempest in the sea, insomuch that the ship was covered with the waves: but he was asleep. And his disciples came to him, and awoke him, saying, Lord, save us: we perish. And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm. But the men marvelled, saying, What manner of man is this, that even the winds and the sea obey him!”  – Matthew 8: 23-27

When I was 13 years old I experienced God in such a real way.  I remember falling on an altar of repentance and standing up a glorious new creation.  Life appeared sweeter and love felt more rich.  Even 15 years later I can still recall the overwhelming abundance of His presence.  I couldn’t grasp why anyone wouldn’t want to experience this Savior called Jesus.  My friends thought that something had to be wrong with me.  They didn’t understand the change that had taken place in my life.  I didn’t want to listen to the same music.  I didn’t want to watch the same things on television.  I was called a “fanatic” a time or two.  Several people would label me as being “holier than thou” a few times.  But at the core of the matter there wasn’t any substance that could alter my stand.  I knew that I had fallen in love with Jesus.  I knew that I couldn’t offer Him “lip service”.  I had experienced Jesus Christ and my life could never be the same.

A few years ago I had the opportunity of working with a youth group.  I wanted them to know Jesus in the ways that I knew Him.  I would teach lesson after lesson and pour my heart into service after service but it didn’t seem as if they were grasping what I felt.  In prayer about this, God helped me to understand something.  These young people had heard of God’s presence and they had seen people in God’s presence.  They knew about Him because they had been taught about Him.  They sang songs about him because they had learned the words to the songs…but they had yet to have a personal experience with Him.  They hadn’t sought after Him.  God truly began to deal with my heart about those who knew of Jesus and those that knew Him.   There is such a difference.

As a little girl I listened to my Mama sing, “Peace Speaker.”  I can still hear her voice as she sang these words, “I know the Peace Speaker.  I know Him by name.  I’m glad I know the Peace Speaker.  He controls the wind and waves.  When He says, peace be still, they have to obey.  I know the Peace Speaker, yes, I know Him by name.”  I thought it was a beautiful song then because I loved the words.  It seemed awesome to be able to say, “I know the Peace Speaker.”  But then, I walked through one of the greatest storms of my life.  I fought Satan over the stability of my mind until I was weak.  I stood in my living room and almost decided to give up and let my life turn out as it would.  I felt that I had tried and failed over and over again.  The winds were too strong for me to maintain a good grasp on my understanding.  The waves were threatening to overtake the solid foundations I thought I had created…and then I decided to let go and allow my Savior the opportunity to calm the troubled waters.  Once I became still enough to hear His voice…once all of my attempts at creating calm had failed…I began listening for the Peace Speaker.  I walked to the Savior and explained what I was going through.  I explained all my fears about the storm…and then my Savior stood up.  Jesus Christ walked to the bow of my vessel and took control of the situations that caused my heart to fear.  He commanded, “Peace, be still!”…and peace became still.  Jesus only had one question.  “Why are you fearful?”  My Spirit feels as if Jesus was saying, “I’m on board this ship with you.  I am yours and you are Mine and because of this reason, I am not going to let anything happen to you.”  But instead of leaving them by their self to prove that He would see them through the storm, He arose and spoke to peace.

Sunday night I stood next to my best friend and with my hands and heart raised in surrender to my Savior, I praised this Peace Speaker.  I sang this song with a greater understanding because now my soul had experienced Jesus speaking to the storms in my life.  It was no longer a pretty song.  It was a testimony…an experience.

Once you experience Jesus Christ…life will become so much sweeter.  He wont force Himself on you but He will answer if you call out of a sincere heart.  Have you experienced Him or do you only know of His power?  Have you experienced the peace that passes all our earthly understanding or do you only sing the lines in the song?  Have you experienced the freedom of the Man that breaks the chains that bind you or have you only read about Paul and Silas and thought it was a nice story?  I’m here to testify that He is better felt than told.  “O taste and see that the Lord is good…” -Psalm 34:8.

If there are storms in your life simply call on the Lord.  Allow the Peace Speaker to take command of your ship.  And then witness as peace lays to rest…watch the winds settle over your sea of life.  The waves wont over take you.  They can’t.  They have to obey when Jesus calls for peace to be still.

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on August 23, 2011 at 11:11 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/i-know-the-peace-speaker/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

