Letter of Resignation

Worry/Fear, Guilt/Shame:

It is with great joy that I submit unto you my letter of resignation.  This letter shall be effective immediately.  I have accepted my position as a Child of God and in doing so have become a joint heir with Jesus Christ.  Romans 8:17.

This position was offered many years ago.  It was made available through the awesome sacrifice that God gave through His Son, Jesus Christ.  The blood He shed on Calvary made provision for my future.  There was nothing that I did to deserve this position.  I couldn’t earn such a beautiful place of service, but Isaiah 1:18 reads, “Though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow: though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”  This sacrifice makes me worthy.  This gift is too precious to refuse.  By not accepting this position I feel it would be disrespectful.  After all that Jesus willingly offered to me, the least I can do is operate in the fullest capacity available.  In saying this I would like to address certain positions that held me directly.

Worry/Fear.  You and I have been long acquainted.  You introduced yourself while I was still a young girl.  I had grown so accustomed to having you as a part of my life that it took a few extreme circumstances to help me realize that I am not destined to be controlled by you.  Therefore, worry, I am informing you that on this day I resign to give you further place in my life. As stated above, God Himself made provision for all circumstances that should worry me many years ago.  My children, my work, my finances, my relationships…they are all not out of the scope of my Savior’s ability to intervene.  He knew my needs before I ever was brought into existence…and because He knows my needs, He has already provided for my needs.  I understand that there may be times that I can’t see how He will work certain situations out.  But He would like me to remind you that my needs aren’t met by this worlds standards of plenty.  My needs will be supplied for according to HIS riches.  “And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory.” Phillipians 4:19.

Guilt/Shame.  You have plagued my mind on many more occasions than I would like to give you credit.  You have spoken to me in the darkest hours of my life and caused me to remain in the past when God was working toward moving me to a brighter future.  This is not to say that I am unaware of the bad decisions that I have made in my past.  But this does lead me to say that, “if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature; old things are passed away, Behold all things are become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:17.  I refuse to be bound by your sense of regret any longer.  I resign my guilt and shame this day and choose to live my life with an expectancy of the good things that my Father has promised me.  It encourages me to know that God is so in control that He can take even my poor decisions and work them out for my good.  Romans 8:28

As part of my new position I have inherited certain gifts that are mine.  Though laying down this fear and worry…guilt and shame will indeed leave a void in my life, I intend to replace this void with it’s rightful residence.  Peace and victory are mine.  Joy and contentment are mine.  Love and forgiveness are mine.  These things will replace all the negativity that I am so gladly giving up.
I leave you with no thanks and hopes of a better future.  I have already been informed of your impending doom and have decided that I wish to take no part in your final demise.  Do not feel free to contact me in the future.  My life has been filled with such a grace that I boldly proclaim, “Greater is He that is within me, than He that is within the world.” l John 4:4
Sincerely,
Resigned to Live
Author: Britney Wilkes
Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved
Published in: on August 29, 2011 at 2:00 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/letter-of-resignation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. AMEN. awesome, awesome truths. THANK YOU AGAIN!

    • 🙂 Thank you. I really do appreciate your comments. They mean so much to me.


Leave a Reply

