We Shall Behold Him

I remember the days my daughters were born in beautiful detail. The circumstances of my life were different with each but the end result was the same. I can’t put into words the overwhelming love I felt when my eyes beheld those little faces. It was as if the final piece of this puzzle that I had been working on had finally come together.

I had already developed a relationship with this little person. I had felt their first movements deep within me…I had laughed at their movements…I had cried at the uncertainty of what life held for us. I deeply loved these little beings without ever having laid eyes on them…so when I did actually see them…the story felt complete but at the same time it felt as if it was just beginning. These were extensions of my own person…little creations that I had been allowed to help bring to life. Actually seeing them only magnified my love.

Dottie Rambo’s lyrics of, “We Shall Behold Him”, probably best put into words how creation laid the foundations of the most grand entrance this world will ever know. “The sky shall unfold, preparing His entrance. The stars shall applaud Him with thunders of praise”. Everything that we know has prepared us for that day. Just as my pregnancies allowed me to experience my children before I ever met them…this life is preparing me for that day. All that I see in His creation will give way to our Savior and all the joys and sorrows…what happiness I had known…the sorrow that I was sure would shatter my heart…it will pale in comparison to the day my eyes behold my Savior. “The angel will sound the shout of His coming. And the sleeping will rise from their slumbering place. And those remaining shall be changed in a moment, and we shall behold Him then face to face”.

I have found myself telling my best friend several times that I am ready for Jesus to come back. My heart longs to go home. The longer I stay, the clearer it becomes that this world is not my home. There’s a stirring in my being for a land that I’ve yet to see. There’s a passion that I have for my Savior that can only be truly fulfilled on the day my eyes behold Him.

Are you ready to behold the Savior? Is your heart’s desire to meet this King face to face? Or are you content to stay? Have you grown to love this world or does your heart yearn for a home that you’ve yet to visit?

I’ve noticed a complacency among those who call themselves “Christians”. They take the name of Christ without taking the responsibility that name entails. They act like the world we live in.. instead of being separate…alien. They blend in with their surroundings so well that I’m afraid they may be left behind with it. Now isn’t the time to lose your passion. Now isn’t the time to grow lax in your convictions. Now is the time to press in and seek our Savior with such ferventness. Because soon and very soon we shall behold Him. And all those that questioned His existence…all those who were double minded in their devotion…they will behold Him as well. Because one day every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

On that day these eyes shall behold the One whom my soul longs for. My soul shall respond to it’s deepest love. My spirit will encounter it’s Peace Speaker. And all the weary days and trials will be gone in an instant…because I will have beheld Jesus Christ the King. In some way a puzzle will have been completed. The pieces will then fit together. I will finally be Home with my Creator…but then the story that I wrote in this life will begin.

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on October 23, 2011 at 6:53 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/we-shall-behold-him/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Needed this today, so much. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

