I’m Trading Houses

I’ve spent the day with memories… things that haunt my present. I’ve picked up several things..objects…that tell the story of a life that isn’t mine anymore. Memories are deceiving at times, because they call to life old emotions. Some emotions can be good, but when those memories remind you of failure…regret…loss…they can be deceiving. That emotion can creep into the reality of the present moment, and make you feel as if that emotion remains real…that you continue to fail and cause regret and loss.

 

So I found a way to move on from the past that recalls hurt. I’ve began to throw it away. I’m letting go of the reminders of poor decisions. These memories were made so solidly that they even tend to remain in the house that I call a home They are painful reminders of poor decisions. So, I began to pray. My present bears no semblance to the past I knew, and the reminders felt as if they were holding me back. I prayed and my Father heard me, and His answer was simple…leave it behind. So now, those memories that crept into the corners of the place that I call home can stay, because I’m trading houses.

 

We all have a past, that’s true with every individual. Some stories are easier to read when they are reviewed, but there are several of us who look back at the decisions we made and we ask ourselves.. ‘Really?…I really did that? That really happened?’ Reminders of our past can cause us to feel as if we are still there, which is why it’s so important to let go of the things that cause us to look back.

 

Therefore if any person is in Christ, he is a new creation: the old has passed away; behold, all things are new. 2 Corinthians 5:17

 

This is the beauty of allowing God to take complete control of your life. He begins to work out circumstances that bind you. He begins to call to life an individual that He created for victory. Only God can restore a willing vessel. He can patch and mold that vessel so that he becomes more like Him…until the vessel you become no longer resembles its surroundings..and then He’ll give you a new home. He’ll move you from glory to glory.

 

Today I refuse to be reminded of a past that would love to haunt me and remind me of my failures…I’m allowing God to restore me…to mold this vessel into something He can use for His glory. I’m trading houses. I plan to fill that house with testimonies of praise. I plan to fill that house with a song of a Redeemer who is able to restore even the most broken of vessels. Yes, I’m trading houses.

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on November 19, 2011 at 9:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/im-trading-houses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

