Sweet Potato Pies and Memaw

My Memaw hand wrote her recipe for her sweet potato pie and gave it to me as a gift. I treasure that recipe. That sweet potato pie was my favorite at Thanksgiving and Christmas. All the other grandchildren loved them as well, but Memaw made me feel as if she made them just for me. For her to write the recipes out for me was so special. I treasure them even more since she passed away.

Memaw was a simple woman. She didn’t travel, she preferred to stay home. She went to town once a week to buy her groceries and go to the bank. She kept her house meticulously clean, and she was a fine cook. She hung her laundry on the line, and ironed every outfit. She kept a garden and loved her dogwood tree. Memaw was simple. Some would have called her different, but she will always be the most precious woman in my life. Memaw was good. I never heard her speak bad about anyone. I would complain to her about certain things going on, and her response was always the same…just pray for them. I would sit in the kitchen and watch Memaw cook. She would let me help her roll the biscuits, and we would talk. I dreamed many big dreams in that kitchen..I went from being an astronaut to a veterinarian..never one time did she tell me I couldn’t do it. Memaw always told me I could do whatever I set my mind to. She always told me she was proud of me…and she loved me.

I miss her. I have my sweet potato pies in the oven and their fragrance takes me back to Alford…and Memaw’s house…paper dolls…and bicycles.

So much has changed since I lived in that little house on 2nd Ave. My family isn’t the same. This morning my house is quiet. I’m sitting on my couch and I can hear the wind through the trees. But instead of focusing on the quiet in the house, I hear the Spirit speaking to me.. ‘Be still, and know that I am God.’

In all life’s changes… in all of its uncertainty… in the painful memories of things past, and in the hope of a beautiful tomorrow..there is this one blessed consistency; God. There is a Savior in heaven who knows about all our life’s changes. He isn’t outside the reach of understanding. God knows.

The amplified version of Psalms 46:10 speaks to me… ‘Let be and be still, and know that I am God.’

Let life’s changes come, but God will remain the same. Let the pain hurt, but God will remain the same. Let His peace overwhelm you, and God will remain the same. Let a heart-break in two, and God will remain the same. Let that same heart be mended, and still, God remains the same.

So this morning I took time to remember the simple things.. Memaw, sweet potato pies…and in the simpleness I found my Savior speaking to me. Today, take time to know He is God, He alone deserves all thanks for this day.

Becky Nixon sings so beautifully my favorite line in a song.. “Paul preached that all is lost, save knowing Christ.” And that’s really all it’s about. It’s simple to know Him, we just have to be still enough to recognize Him. He alone can speak to your soul so gently. Simply, some might say, through sweet potato pies, and memories of my Memaw.

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2011 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on November 25, 2011 at 10:08 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2011/11/25/sweet-potato-pies-and-memaw/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Awesome as usual!!! You have such a God given way of expressing in words what others feel in their hearts, brings such memories of days gone by and hope for these days we are living…the simple things in life are worth more than silver or gold..a baby’s smile, hugs from friends and family, God’s beauty all around…til we are together again, never to part again…I am so blessed to have you as a part of my life…


Leave a Reply

