Preparations

“Let us rejoice and shout for joy [exulting and triumphant]! Let us celebrate and ascribe to Him glory and honor, for the marriage of the Lamb [at last] has come, and His bride has prepared herself.” Revelation 19:7

 

“…and His bride has prepared herself.” I remember the day I was married. I was so nervous before I walked down the aisle. I was scared and excited, anxious and calm all at once. I had dreamed of that day for years, and finally it had come. For all the uncertainty of what life would hold for me in those moments, I remember that I felt beautiful. I had prepared myself for my groom. My hair had been curled and pinned just right within my veil. My makeup had been done with precious detail. A dear friend at that time had helped me into a beautiful gown, and all the traditions were followed…with something old, and something new.. something borrowed and something blue. I felt radiant, just as a bride should, because I had prepared myself just as a bride should.

The word refers to the church as the bride of Christ. There are beautiful scripture that depicts the love and return of our Savior as the bridegroom coming after his bride. The depictions are beautiful in my mind’s eye, maybe because I have been a bride, maybe because I have experienced the reception of all my preparation. My groom’s face told the story that it all hadn’t been in vain.

But our Savior isn’t looking for an outward display of beauty. He is searching for a pure heart and a clean soul.

“She has been permitted to dress in fine (radiant) linen, dazzling and white–for the fine linen is (signified, represents) the righteousness (the upright, just, and godly living, deeds, and conduct, and right standing with God) of the saints (God’s holy people).” Revelation 19:8

Though the theorist of our time would like to depict Christianity as having ‘many’ ways to God in simply being a ‘good person’. That isn’t what Jesus taught. The word of God teaches us that there is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. The word also teaches us that yes, we should be a good people, but being a good person should be a result of a heart that is obedient to Jesus.

I have been told on several occasions that I am old fashion. To some that may be offensive, but in my way of thinking, it’s just right. I can’t afford to grow lax in my convictions because my bridegroom hasn’t returned. The preparations are still being made.

What is your focus in life? Are you living day by day to fulfill your own desires? Do you do what feels right in the moment? Or are you anticipating that your present decisions affect your future? Are you preparing yourself for the bridegroom?

No man knows the day or the hour when Jesus will return. There aren’t any mathematical equations that can help us determine the day, but the word does reveal through prophecy that the day is drawing near. And because of this, I urge you, if you haven’t began to prepare yourself, do so today. Make the decision to follow Jesus Christ, to live a life that honors Him.

A bride doesn’t just throw herself together a few minutes before the wedding. She makes plans, she needs help. She takes time and adorns herself in a beautiful and fine gown. A clean soul, a pure heart, a mouth that speaks words her groom can recognize, this is how the bride of Christ should appear. And all our preparation will be worth it when we hear our bridegroom say, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant.’

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2012 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on January 8, 2012 at 3:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/preparations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

