My Unbelief

“Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!” -Mark 9:24

This boy had suffered with an evil spirit for years. The word isn’t exact and doesn’t tell us how many years, but we do know that from childhood this spirit had tried to kill him either by burning him in fire, or by drowning him in water. I can’t begin to imagine the horror this father felt. My heart breaks when my children are sick with a cold. So the idea that a demonic spirit had so consumed this child that it had tried to kill him… is unfathomable for me.

I would imagine that hearing Jesus was near and could heal his son was bittersweet. No doubt he had already tried everything in his power to help his son. I’m certain that he might have even felt guilty at the doubt he felt when he heard of Jesus, because of all the times he had tried before and failed. Of course, hope outweighed his uncertainty, and he takes his son to Jesus. He is met by Jesus’ disciples. They tried to cast the demon out and couldn’t. Doubt immediately began talking to that father.. “Why did you waste your time with Jesus? It hasn’t worked before, why would it work now?”

Don’t you know that this father was about at his wit’s end? Can’t you imagine that he didn’t know what else to do? And then Jesus walks into the midst of all the confusion. The religious elders, the scribes, were arguing with the disciples and Jesus asked them what was going on? The father didn’t even wait for them to answer, instead he yells out from the crowd and says, “I’ve brought you my son. The disciples tried to heal him and it didn’t work.” Jesus called for the son to be brought to him, and immediately that spirit began acting up, because it recognized the presence and the power of God.

Jesus told the man the same thing that is still true for us today. “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.” Now this is where I relate to that father. Immediately, he answers Jesus, and with tears in his eyes, he says.. “Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief.”

How absolutely honest and beautifully sincere is that? It’s real. Lord I believe, but there is this unbelief that I have that you have to help me with because my son needs you.

I have found myself in the same place… desperate, and calling on God to forgive my shortcomings…knowing they aren’t right, but uncertain of how to fix them. Lord, I believe you are the son of God, born of a virgin. I believe you lived a sinless life and gave your life willingly as the perfect sacrifice, so that my sins could be forgiven by the precious blood you shed on Calvary. I believe you died on the cross, were laid to rest in a borrowed tomb, bound Satan.. and then rose on the third day. I believe you ascended to heaven, where you sit at the right hand of God. I believe if I confess my sins your blood is sufficient enough to cover and forgive me of those sins. I believe the trumpet is going to sound, and those who are dead and knew Christ are going to bust out of their graves. And then those which remain are going to be called up to meet you in the air.

I believe all of that. I believe you are who you say you are. I believe you can do what you say you can do…..but Lord, can you help me guide my life? Can you help me make the right decisions? Can you keep my kids safe? Can I trust you to help me pay my bills? Can I trust you to help me put food on my table, and clothes on my children’s back? Can I trust you to heal my marriage? Can I trust you to help me forgive? Can I trust you with all the things I don’t understand?

What is beautiful in this passage is that Jesus took this man’s faulted faith, and worked with it. His son was healed in the next moment. Jesus didn’t fault that man for being honest. He didn’t fault that man for being real. He just used what the man offered.

Offer your best to Jesus. Your limitations and failures don’t change who God is. He can take what you offer and make a miracle.

Have you allowed Satan to lie to you, and tell you that because you aren’t perfect, and you don’t have a perfect faith, you can’t be used of God? You absolutely can, and God absolutely can use you. We serve a God who makes beauty from ashes. He can create a miracle from your misery. You just have to trust that God is greater than your unbelief.

And to answer all of our uncertainty; Yes, God can be trusted, and He is more than enough to meet every need we possess.

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2012 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on July 12, 2012 at 7:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/my-unbelief/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

