Friday the 13th! A Good Day to be Alive!

“This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

Today is Friday, July 13th, 2012. Yes, that’s right, it’s Friday the 13th! My best friend, just messing around, made some remark about Friday the 13th and I jokingly told her the above scripture in response. But it made my brain begin to wiggle…

I hear so many people say, “Oh man, I should stay in the bed tomorrow because it’s Friday the 13th. Something bad is going to happen!” If you go to the home page of your internet provider, you’ll probably see some story about bad luck and how to avoid it, particularly on this day. All day long when anything goes amiss, you are likely to hear someone say, “Well, it’s Friday the 13th. It’s always a bad day.” I can’t help but roll my eyes at these kinds of remarks. Lucky pennies and rabbit’s feet (which is just gross (and weird), if you ask me) are not what anyone needs to manage their way through this day. Or any day!

If you can see through God’s eyes, then you can see that this day has been gifted to you by Him! Though there may be strife, pain, stress, heartache and bad hair for some, it is still a gift that you have been given. A gift…my boys had their birthday party this past weekend. I had “the talk” with them before the party. You know, the one where you tell them that even if they hate the gift, or if they already have the gift– even if it was a Barbie Doll covered in pink glitter—they had the obligation to say how much they appreciated the gifts they received because these people didn’t have to spend their time and money on Noah and Samuel. But they cared enough to do so. And for that we should show our appreciation. (For the record, there were no Barbie’s and the boys genuinely loved everything!) When you receive a gift, it is yours to do with as you wish.

Some may want to trade it in for something different, some may put it in a closet and pass it on to the next person who may enjoy it more, some may use it until it falls apart, some may hold it close and not use it for a long time for fear of losing it, some may save it for just the right occasion, but whatever we do with our gift is our choice.

How do you choose to use your gift today? Here are a few options:

· You can whine about your circumstances or shine through them.

· You may be reluctant about the situations you face or be resilient in the face of them.

· You can be bitter about the pain or determine to be better in spite of it all, or because of it all!

· You can worry about things, or you can worship the One who knows all things and is carrying you.

· You can frown and furrow your brow, or you can turn that frown upside down and let everyone see your beautiful smile!

The outcome of this day will not be determined by the fact that the day of the month and the day of the week happen to bring us to Friday the 13th. The outcome of your day will be determined by your choices. This day is a gift…what will you do with your gift? I know what I’m going to do—I’m going to eat leftover Chinese food for breakfast (that’s right, it’s good—don’t judge me!), then I’m going to shine, worship, smile and be the best me I can be today. Thank You, Lord for this gift. This is the day that You have made for me, I WILL rejoice and be glad in it!!

 

P.S. I don’t believe in luck…I have Jesus!

 

 

Author: Trish Brannon 

Copyright © 2010-2012 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on July 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/friday-the-13th-a-good-day-to-be-alive/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

