It’s Beautiful

“I just love him.” I smiled when she told me, but a certain place within my heart ached. I was talking with a lady at work and asked her how long she and her husband had been married. 43 years…and her face still lit up when she told me. I asked her what the secret was and her smile grew even wider, “I just love him.” I listened as the ladies I sat with spoke about their husbands. One said that her husband claims he knew he would marry her when he was only 13 years old. They all agreed that they each were married to their best friend and felt they had found their ‘soul mate’.

I wasn’t sure what had prompted me at the time to speak up, but I did.. “I don’t think I’ll do the married thing again.” I said. Curious eyes looked at me. I explained that I didn’t feel so broken anymore but didn’t know if I had it in me to do it again. And though my best friend’s argue and disagree with me about this, I truly feel that I’m ok alone. When it all comes down to it, I’m not certain that I have the ability to love without limits again. I’m not certain I can commit my heart to a man because of the hard reality that the same commitment may not be given in return. Some call it fear. Some may label it as insecurity, but despite the choice of wording.. it’s still a gamble. The question is can I love a man with the possibility that he could leave? The ladies listened and they said they understood my way of thinking. They told me these feelings were normal, and like my best friend has told me before, they say that I will feel this way until I didn’t anymore…and there is no time limit on when the change will occur.

I thought about it some and allowed my mind to remember some old pains. I began to justify my feelings because of another’s actions that occurred a little while back. My best friend’s voice filled my mind.. ‘You’ve got to change your way of thinking about this.’ So I began to pray, and after some time I began to feel the Spirit begin to minister to me. For all my questions about love… for all my fears and insecurities…I was reminded that I wasn’t the only one who has ever questioned the loyalty of the ones they’ve loved. Millions of others have suffered through greater pains than I will ever know, and though the pain was great, love eventually was greater still.

Jesus Christ left the majesty of heaven. He was born into a society that wasn’t really among the upper crust at all. His birth wasn’t acceptable in society considering Mary and Joseph hadn’t even married before she found herself pregnant. He worked as a carpenter, there were no servants to announce His arrival as royalty had. He held no worldly possessions. Jesus knew no sin…He simply loved us. He loved us so much that He willingly laid down His life. When He prayed in the garden, His closest friends couldn’t even stay awake to help Him pray. When Peter was questioned about his following Jesus he denied even knowing Him. When the crowd could have chosen to free Him, they chose a murderer over Him. Jesus knew pain. He knew what it was like to be absolutely forsaken by the ones He adored, but He just loved us. That’s the reason He endured all He did. He just loved us.

‘Now it is an extraordinary thing for one to give his life even for an upright man, though perhaps for a noble and lovable and generous benefactor someone might even dare to die. But God shows and clearly proves His [own] love for us by the fact that while we were still sinners, Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One) died for us.’ Romans 5:7-8

There are many beautiful passages in the Word of God, and these verses are certainly no exception. Jesus Christ died for my sins. He took my faults, my failures, the wrong intentions of my heart, the poor and careless decisions, and bore them on a hill called Calvary. He spilled His life’s blood so that I could be redeemed. His is such a beautiful sacrifice, and one that is taken for granted daily by the people He chose to die for.

How many times have we continued in sin, chose the hurtful words in moments of anger, went to places and done things we shouldn’t because it allows temporary satisfaction? How many times have we carried un-forgiveness in our heart toward someone, and justified it because of the pain we feel? In doing so we take away from the sacrifice Jesus gave.

Even still He did it, because of His love. Jesus knew that we could choose to love Him and serve Him faithfully, or we could halfheartedly call ourselves Christians and occasionally acknowledge Him. Jesus knew we could walk away to our own desire, and He even knew we could never choose Him at all. But He just loves us. And this is who I’ve committed my life to. This is unconditional love. And in looking at His sacrifice from this perspective my hurt lessens, my pain seems so small in comparison. It’s beautiful.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in him shall not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

 

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2012 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on July 21, 2012 at 9:53 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/its-beautiful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love this post! I especially love the open book policy. When we all talk so openly with one another, sharing experiences, and lessons learned throughout our lives, it touches my heart. This kind of sharing allows God to work through each of us. If you can take something from me, or me from you, then work has been done!! My eyes tear up each time I read this. This is definitely not the first time.


Leave a Reply

