Noah Found Grace

“But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord.” Genesis 6:8

After Sunday school my 4 year-old ran up to me with a huge smile on her face. She pulled me down and said, ‘Mama guess what.. Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord.’ Her face was so proud. I’m not sure what I was expecting her to say, but it wasn’t that. ‘What?’ I asked her..she repeated herself, took me by the hand and led me to her new Sunday school teacher. ‘See Mama, Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord.’ I understood then. My daughter had been listening in Sunday school and had memorized her memory verse. She told me her memory verse a few times that day, and after she woke up the next day, shetold me her verse again. When I dropped her off at daycare, she told her teacher. Her excitement over the verse made me re-read the passage in Genesis.

“And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagining of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. And the Lord repented that He had made man on the earth, and it grieved Him in His heart.” Genesis 6:5, 6

In a world that was so full of evil that God Himself repented of His creation was found Noah. God had already decided that He would destroy the creation, both man and beast..“But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord.” Genesis 6:8 The Word says that even in the midst of such ugliness that he was a just man, and perfect in his generation. He held true to his Savior and Noah walked with God. So God tells Noah to build an ark to save himself, his family, and two of each of the animals from the flood He would send to destroy the world. And Noah, having found grace, listened and obeyed. At this point all we know of Noah is that God gave him grace because he had walked with Him and when God spoke Noah listened.

I’ve tried placing myself in Noah’s position. I’m not sure if I would have been obedient. How odd would it be to have God tell you that He would send a great flood to destroy the earth, and by the way, build a huge boat so civilization can be rebuilt through you? I might have questioned whether God was speaking to me, but not Noah. He listened and he obeyed. He did what God asked. Others brushed Noah off and didn’t believe him when he tried to tell of God’s plan. They thought him crazy, but even in the face of such adversary, Noah obeyed God. The Word says that obedience is better than sacrifice..a point that is well made by Noah.

Has God called you to do something that seems a little different in comparison to others? Have you questioned whether you were hearing the voice of God? I encourage you, walk close to God, seek Him daily. I’m certain that because Noah was a just man he had spent time talking to God. As the Word says he walked with Him. Because of this he knew His voice when He spoke to him.

Noah’s obedience caused creation to be rebuilt. My little girl’s Sunday school teacher’s obedience caused an excitement for God’s words to be burst in my daughter’s heart. In my world both are amazing and beautiful. However God speaks to you, whatever God chooses to say, be obedient. You never know what God will choose to do with that simple act of servant hood.

 

Author: Britney Wilkes

Copyright © 2010-2012 Devotions Of Grace Blog – All Rights Reserved

Published in: on August 13, 2012 at 8:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devotionsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/noah-found-grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

